P. S. Res. Nos. 565, 569 and 570

Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines **Senate**

Pasay City

Fourteenth Congress

Second Regular Session

Resolution No. 103

RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE METROBANK FOUNDATION'S 2008 OUTSTANDING TEACHERS

WHEREAS, next to our parents, the teachers have the most impact on our lives, instilling in us the values of right and wrong and making profound difference in the paths that we have chosen;

WHEREAS, one of the greatest roles of a teacher is empowering the mind of the students and persuading them to aspire more than they think they are capable of attaining;

WHEREAS, we should recognize the essential role of the teachers in educational advancement, their important contributions in the development of humanity and modern society and their rights as members of a highly-regarded profession;

WHEREAS, amidst the difficulties our teachers are facing because of meager salaries and benefits and the deplorable condition of many of our school buildings, teaching materials and equipment, they remain reliable and dedicated in their duty of educating the youth;

WHEREAS, notwithstanding the constraints, the teachers should be honored for their honesty and dedication and for being in the noblest profession;

WHEREAS, for the last twenty-four (24) years, the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. has honored 266 outstanding teachers of the Philippines and this year's ten (10) outstanding teachers were selected by the distinguished panel of judges;

WHEREAS, this year's winners consist of four (4) teachers in the elementary, four (4) in secondary and two (2) in the higher education levels, the Roll of Honor for 2008 Metrobank Foundation's Outstanding Teachers:

> MS. JESUSA M. ANTIQUIERA Padre M. Gomez Elementary School

MRS. LYNN Z. PADILLO Naga Central School 1

MRS. MAYDELYN R. ANTIOQUIA President Manuel Roxas Memorial School North

MRS. O MARIE THERESSE M. BAGAS West City Central School

MRS. ROWENA R. HIBANADA Pedro E. Diaz High School

MRS. ERMIE E. RABARA Midsayap-Dilangalen National High School MRS. JEANETTE G. DIALS Mariano Marcos State University Laboratory High School – Laoag Campus

MRS. NOEMI O. OBCENA Cagayan National High School

IRMA R. MAKALINAO, M.D. University of the Philippines-Manila

VIRGINIA C. CUEVAS, Ph.D. University of the Philippines- Los Baños

WHEREAS, the abovecited teachers are the beacons of unstinting dedication and commitment: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved, That the Philippine Senate commends the Metrobank Foundation's 2008 Outstanding Teachers.

Adopted,

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on August 27, 2008.

ecretary of the Senate