Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Senate

Pasay City

Fourteenth Congress

Second Regular Session

RESOLUTION No. 104

RESOLUTION HONORING MAJOR MANUEL SAMBRANO, CAPTAIN ADRIAN DE DIOS, FLIGHT TECHNICAL SERGEANT CONSTANTINO LOBREGAT, STAFF SERGEANT JOHN ARRIOLA, STAFF SERGEANT GERRY DELIOSO, STAFF SERGEANT FELIX PEDRO PATRIARGA, STAFF SERGEANT PETRONILO FERNANDEZ, STAFF SERGEANT PATRICIO CLAUR JR. AND STAFF SERGEANT ALDRIN ILUSTRISIMO, ALL OF THE PHILIPPINE AIR FORCE, PILOT AND CREW OF THE C-130 AIRCRAFT WHICH CRASHED OFF THE COAST OF DAVAO CITY ON AUGUST 25, 2008

WHEREAS, in the evening of August 25, 2008, a C-130 plane of the Philippine Air Force departed the Davao International Airport with two pilots and seven other crew members on board;

WHEREAS, the military transport plane was on its way to Iloilo City, where members of the Presidential Security Group awaited its arrival for their eventual transport to Manila:

WHEREAS, a mere two minutes after taking off, the plane lost contact with air traffic control authorities;

WHEREAS, search operations were immediately launched by the Philippine Air Force involving at least three military helicopters, with all military services also being involved in rescue operations;

WHEREAS, the plane had earlier transported combat troops from Fort Magsaysay, an army base in northern Nueva Ecija province, to Davao City, a major southern airport on the edge of the coast;

WHEREAS, accidents of this nature serve as a reminder of the heroism and dedication of our Air Force personnel to perform their sworn duty to the country despite the lack of state-of-the-art equipment to aid them in military service;

WHEREAS, the C-130s of the AFP contribute greatly to the welfare of our citizens in terms of relief, whether in times of peace or disaster, transporting ambulances and goods to areas where they are needed;

WHEREAS, the passing away of the pilot and crew of the C-130 will be felt not only by their families but by the whole country, and as such they deserve to be honored and remembered for their dedication and professionalism: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved, That the Philippine Senate honor and remember the pilot and crew, all members of the Philippine Air Force, of the C-130 aircraft which crashed off the coast of Davao, namely: pilot Major Manuel Sambrano, co-pilot Captain Adrian de Dios, crew members Flight Technical Sergeant Constantino Lobregat, and Staff Sergeants John Arriola, Gerry Delioso, Felix Pedro Patriarga, Petronilo Fernandez, Patricio Claur Jr. and Aldrin Ilustrisimo, for their dedication and professionalism in serving the country.

Adopted,

MANNY VILLAR

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on September 1, 2008.

EMMA LIRIG REYES

Secretary of the Senate

0