P. S. Res. No. 102 P. S. Res. No. 103 P. S. Res. No. 104

## Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Senate Pasay City

Fourteenth Congress

First Regular Session

## RESOLUTION No. 15

RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING THE TEN (10) OUTSTANDING TEACHERS OF 2007 AWARDED BY THE METROBANK FOUNDATION, INC.

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate recognizes that the Filipino teachers' heroic dedication to their profession has earned for teaching the nation's highest respect as the noblest of all professions;

WHEREAS, ten (10) of the country's best educators have been chosen in the annual search for outstanding teachers by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc.;

WHEREAS, the ten (10) outstanding teachers join the 256 outstanding teachers, who have been honored by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. for the last 23 years as shining examples of unstinting dedication and commitment to the teaching profession, and as such, the pride and joy not only of their respective schools and communities, but also of the whole nation as well;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate similarly gives honor to the teaching profession and recognizes these Filipino teachers who have been chosen for devoting their lives to the development of the youth with exemplary competence, dedication and passion;

WHEREAS, the selfless devotion of our outstanding teachers to their craft is even more astonishing considering the pressures, difficulties and hardships that most of them work under, notwithstanding the glittering attractions of other jobs and career opportunities;

WHEREAS, the teaching profession now presents more daunting challenges as the country's current crop of teachers have the unenviable, but noble, task of molding a generation of learned Filipinos able to brilliantly compete in a rapidly changing global age, marked by endless technological advancements in an era of increasing global connectivity, integration and interdependence in the economic, social, technological, cultural, political and ecological spheres;

WHEREAS, in honoring the outstanding qualities and contributions of these teachers, may countless other teachers all over the country be inspired to always strive for excellence in the teaching profession for generations to come;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate proudly joins the never-ending pursuit for excellence in education by honoring and commending the country's best educators who can be emulated as models, not only by their fellow educators, but also by the entire Filipino nation;

WHEREAS, the Roll of Honor for 2007 Metrobank Foundation's Outstanding Teachers consists of four (4) teachers in the elementary, four (4) in secondary and two (2) in the higher education levels: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved, That the Senate commends ten (10) outstanding teachers chosen by Metrobank Foundation, Inc., namely:

MR. FREDO T. LAURELES
Ateneo de Manila Grade School, Loyola Heights, Quezon City

MRS. JENELUJ C. CUNANAN Lanao Central Elementary School Brgy. Lanao, Kidapawan City MRS. MADELINE P. RIVERA San Pablo Central School, Rizal Avenue, San Pablo City

MRS. LETICIA N. PALLE Malaybalay City Central School, San Sebastian, Malaybalay City

> MRS. GLENDALE B. LAMISERIA Dulag National High School, Dulag, Leyte

DR. RUBEN L. ABUCAYON Alegria National High School, Alegria, Surigao del Norte

MRS. NORMA C. PACAIGUE Novaliches High School, Novaliches, Quezon City

MRS. CYNTHIA B. BANGERO Barotac Viejo National High School, Barotac Viejo, Iloilo

DR. BENILDA S. SANTOS Ateneo de Manila University Loyola Schools, Loyola Heights, Quezon City

DR. CAESAR A. SALOMA University of the Philippines Diliman, Diliman, Quezon City

for their exemplary competence, dedication to service and commitment in providing quality education.

Adopted,

MANNY VILLAR
President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on September 3, 2007.

EMMA LIRIO-RAYES Secretary of the Senate