Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Senate Pasay City

Fourteenth Congress

First Regular Session

Resolution No. 43

RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE 2007 GAWAD GENY LOPEZ JR. BAYANING PILIPINO AWARDEES, A STERLING INSIGNIA OF COMMITTED OUTSTANDING SELFLESS FILIPINOS IN THE SERVICE OF THEIR KABABAYANS

WHEREAS, amidst the difficulties that confront our daily lives, it is always pleasant to note that a great number of Filipinos still continue to hold dear in their hearts and minds the virtue of selfless love for family, for community and for country;

WHEREAS, motivated by the virtue of selfless love and driven by a desire to uplift and improve the condition of their families and neighbors, these Filipinos have managed to rise above their own difficulties and limitations, to excel in their fields of endeavor, placing the needs of others above their own, thus making them worthy of emulation;

WHEREAS, since its inception in 1994, the Gawad Geny Lopez Jr. Bayaning Pilipino Awards continuously searched and yearly gave recognition to commendable Pinoys who have unwaveringly shared their time and efforts to assist and improve the condition of their fellow Filipinos;

WHEREAS, for the year 2007, the Gawad Geny Lopez Jr. Bayaning Pilipino Awards have chosen to recognize the following individuals and organizations:

- 1. Daryl F. Famisaran of Valencia, Bukidnon, for having succeeded in opening the Socio-Economic Uplift Literacy Anthropological Development Studies or SULADS, providing education to the LUMADS in the mountains of Bukidnon who are willing to learn;
- 2. Editha Cañete-Miguel, M.D. of Puerto Princesa, Palawan, for braving the Province of Palawan, sharing her knowledge of health care and founding the Agape Rural Health Program;
- 3. Monica A. Sison of Valencia, Negros Oriental, for choosing to teach in a place which was once known as "no man's island" in Valencia, Negros Oriental, and constructing a high school in the area;
- 4. Rolly T. Melendrez, Jr. of Pagadian City, for actively encouraging the youth of Pagadian City to be involved in different livelihood programs and preserving their culture;
- 5. Sr. Eloisa David, OSB, for being a "Super Sister" of Tacloban, involving herself in the construction of a public hospital, a housing project for employees, skills development program for farmers, among others;
- 6. The Dynamic Teen Company Caridad, Cavite City, for having been able to turn their lives around from being former drug users, and criminals to acting counselors to the youth of Cavite who are in need of advice, giving gifts to children living in squatters area and the cemeteries, organizing fund raising activities such as concerts and "ukay-ukay," the proceeds of which are used for the children whose lives they continue to touch; and
- 7. The San Lorenzo Ruiz Spiritual Center of Tidewater, Virginia, U.S.A., for providing shelter, comfort and solace to Filipino Immigrants of Tidewater, VA.

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate, recognizing the invaluable contribution of these Filipinos and organizations to our people and nation, would like to similarly give honor to the Gawad Geny Lopez Jr.

Bayaning Pilipino Awardees of 2007 for their exemplary competence, dedication and passion;

Whereas, the Gawad Geny Lopez Jr. Bayaning Pilipino 2007 awardees' selfless devotion in helping out others, despite the adversities they face and the limited resources they possess, are truly worthy of recognition;

WHEREAS. in honoring the outstanding qualities and contributions of these Pinoy individuals and truly Pinoy organizations, other Filipinos throughout the country and all over the world may be inspired to always strive to do their best and extend acts of kindness to their fellowmen: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved, by the Senate of the Philippines, To commend the 2007 Gawad Geny Lopez Jr. Bayaning Pilipino Awardees for their exceptional commitment, a sterling insignia of committed outstanding selfless Filipinos in the service of their Kababayans.

Adopted,

MANNY VILLAR **Resident of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on December 11, 2007.

EMMA LIRIO KEYES

Secretary of the Sengte