P. S. Res. No. 4 P. S. Res. No. 37

> Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

> > Senate

Pasay City

Fourteenth Congress

First Regular Session

## RESOLUTION No. 5

RESOLUTION HONORING THE FOURTEEN (14)
MARINES WHO PERISHED IN THE LINE OF
DUTY IN ALBARKA, BASILAN LAST 10 JULY
2007, CONDEMNING UNDER THE STRONGEST
TERMS POSSIBLE THE BARBARIC ACT OF
BEHEADING AND/OR MUTILATING THE
REMAINS OF TEN (10) OF THEM, AND
URGING THE PHILIPPINE GOVERNMENT
AND THE LEADERSHIP OF THE MILF TO
IDENTIFY AND PUNISH THE PERPETRATORS

WHEREAS, last Tuesday, 10 July 2007, returning from a humanitarian mission of searching the jungles of Basilan for kidnapped Italian priest Fr. Giancarlo Bossi, elements of the 8th Marine Landing Team were ambushed by the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) despite an existing four (4) year ceasefire agreement;

WHEREAS, in the ensuing battle which lasted for seven (7) long hours, fourteen (14) young marines, most of them only in their twenties, were killed in action, with at least nine (9) other marines being wounded;

WHEREAS, ten (10) out of the fourteen (14) marines who perished were either beheaded or mutilated by still unknown malefactors;

WHEREAS, these young marines have laid down their lives in the line of duty and in defense of our flag and our country and deserve the eternal gratitute of our people and our proud nation;

WHEREAS, the barbaric act of beheading and/or mutilating the remains of ten (10) of the marines who perished is an act of extreme cowardice and has no place in a civilized society: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved by the Senate of the Philippines, To honor and express the eternal gratitude of our people and our nation to the fourteen (14) marines who perished in the line of duty on Tuesday, 10 July 2007, in Albarka (formerly Tipo-Tipo), Basilan, namely:

- 1. M/Sgt. Noel Bautista
- 2. T/Sgt. Bernard Abes
- 3. S/Sgt. Rey Callueng
- 4. S/Sgt. Gerard Licup
- 5. S/Sgt. Cayetano Simbajon
- 6. Sgt. Russel Panaga
- 7. Cpl. Freddie Palma
- 8. Cpl. Elizar Semeniano
- 9. Cpl. Reuben Doronio Jr.
- 10. Cpl. Jhonard Alianza
- 11. Cpl. Arjorin Eleazar
- 12. Cpl. Emmanuel Beup
- 13. Cpl. Emilio Lachica; and
- 14. Cpl. Wilfredo Lamban;

as well as those who were wounded in battle while defending our flag and our country.

Resolved, further, To condemn under the strongest terms possible the barbaric and dastardly act of beheading and/or mutilating the remains of ten (10) of the marines who perished in the incident.

Resolved, finally, To urge the Philippine Government and the leadership of the MILF to immediately identify and punish the perpetrators of the cowardly act of beheading and/or mutilating the fallen soldiers.

Adopted,

MANNY VILLAR
President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 25, 2007.

EMMA LIRIG-REYES

a