P. S. Res. No. 507P. S. Res. No. 510P. S. Res. No. 523

Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Senate

Pasay City

Fourteenth Congress

Second Regular Session

RESOLUTION No. 91

RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE LAS PIÑAS BOYS CHOIR FOR DISPLAYING THE COUNTRY'S HIGHEST PRIDE AND ARTISTRY IN WINNING THE 5TH WORLD CHOIR GAMES IN GRAZ, AUSTRIA

WHEREAS, on 12 July 2008, the Las Piñas Boys Choir won the gold medal in the Children's Category and silver medal in the Musica Sacra Category in the 5th World Choir Games held in Graz, Austria;

WHEREAS, held every two years in different countries, the World Choir Games is the largest international choir competition; WHEREAS, the 20-member Las Piñas Boys Choir based in St. Joseph Church in Las Piñas, home of the world-famous bamboo organ, bested 70 choir groups from all over the world;

WHEREAS, the choir members are: George Angeles II, Bernard Paolo Caro, Alvin Joshua Cayetano, Josiah de los Santos, Justin Claude Fernandez, Jadlae Aivan Fernandez, Joseph Vincent Gregorio, Carl Paolo Hernandez, Japheth Juanillo, Herman Manalang, Jhansseen Martinez, Dhonel Martinicio, Alwyn Dominique Panoso, Rupert Kim Pastrana, Ramon Paolo Quintero, Chazz Reyes, Karlo Reyes, Francis David Salonga, Joshua Gabriel, and Samiley and Joe Sengson;

WHEREAS, the Las Piñas Boys Choir was founded in 1969 by Reverend Father Leo Reinier, CICM, who was assistant parish priest in St. Joseph Parish, and the existence of the choir is also closely connected with the presence of the world-renowned Bamboo Organ;

WHEREAS, under the artistic direction of Professor Armando Salarza, the group is a regular performer in the annual Bamboo Organ International Music Festival: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved by the Senate of the Philippines, To commend the Las Piñas Boys Choir for winning the gold medal in the Children's Category and silver medal in the Musica Sacra Category in the 5th World Choir Games held in Graz, Austria and for contributing to the pride and honor of the global Filipino.

Adopted,

MANNY VILLAR

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on August 6, 2008.

EMMA LIRIO-REYES

Secretary of the Sengte