Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Senate

Pasay City

Fifteenth Congress

First Regular Session

Resolution No. 9

RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING THE TEN (10) OUTSTANDING TEACHERS OF THE 2010 SEARCH OF THE METROBANK FOUNDATION, INC.

WHEREAS, teachers are the torchbearers of our society who infuse in us the value of right and wrong, educate and train us with useful skills and behaviours and inspire us to choose paths that redound to the common good;

WHEREAS, teachers provide their learners with the rigor and discipline - within the space and bounds of academic freedom, the Code of Ethics for Professional Teachers and the Constitution of the Republic of the Philippines, that will enable learners to bridge our legacy to the modern advances in science, arts, philosophy and ethics in order to improve our material, emotional and ideological well-being:

(dun)

WHEREAS, teachers always strive to display the highest intellectual, moral and professional conduct that enables them to motivate the learners, the community and the government to put a high premuim on education;

WHEREAS, our society expects teachers to excel in all their endeavours beyond education and requires them to lead and actively participate in community movements designed for our betterment, for which they should be well rewarded;

WHEREAS, we recognize the honesty, fairness and dedication that teachers apply in all activities in the learning process within and outside of the classroom to the extent of using their personal resources in order to create a stimulating environment for learning and good citizenship;

WHEREAS, for the last twenty-six (26) years, the Metrobank Foundation, Inc., consistent with its conviction to honor the teaching profession as a noble vocation, has been awarding teachers from all over the country through its Search for Outstanding Teachers as adjudged by a set of distinguished panel of judges with the selection of ten (10) winners each year;

WHEREAS, this year's winners consist of four (4) teachers in the elementary, four (4) in secondary and two (2) in the higher education levels;

WHEREAS, the following is the Roll of Honors for the 2010 Metrobank Foundation's Search for Outstanding Teachers with a brief on their professional and personal accomplishments as provided in Annex A to J;

- 1. Mrs. Grace U. Salvatus of the Municipal Sector Elementary School in Calauag, Quezon;
- 2. Mrs. Miladith B. Polutan of Oroquieta City Central Elementary School in Oroquieta City, Misamis Occidental;
- 3. Mrs. Conchita A. Ibarondo of San Antonio Elementary School in Iriga Ciy, Camarines Sur;
- 4. Mrs. Nancy S. Aquino of Mlang Pilot Elementary School in Mlang, Cotabato;
- 5. Mrs. Janeth Morata-Fuentes of the Philippine Science High School-Eastern Visayas Campus in Palo, Leyte;

- 6. Mrs. Mercedita S. Villamayor of Bukidnon State University Secondary School Laboratory in Malaybalay City, Bukidnon:
- 7. Mrs. Estrelita A. Peña of Kabasalan National High School in Kabasalan, Zamboanga Sibugay;
- 8. Mrs. Mercelita J. Labial of Xavier University High School in Cagayan de Oro City;
- 9. Dr. Rowena Cristina L. Guevara of the University of the Philippines - Diliman in Diliman, Quezon City; and
- 10. Dr. Raymund C. Sison of De La Salle University in Taft Avenue, Manila;

WHEREAS, these teachers are epitomes of commitment, dedication and dignity in a noble profession; Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved by the Senate of the Philippines, To honor and commend the abovementioned winners of the 2010 Metrobank Foundation's Search for Outstanding Teachers for their laudable dedication to the teaching profession and their unwavering commitment to attain a high quality of education in the country.

Resolved, further, That copies of this Resolution as well as the corresponding Annexes be given to the abovementioned outstanding teachers.

Adopted,

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on August 23, 2010.

EMMA LIRIO-REYES

Secretary of the Senate

)