Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Senate

Pasay City

Sixteenth Congress

First Regular Session

## RESOLUTION No. 29

RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE FILIPINO MEMBERS OF THE ORGANIZATION FOR THE PROHIBITION OF CHEMICAL WEAPONS FOR BEING PART OF THE TEAM THAT WON A NOBEL PEACE PRIZE FOR 2013

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate, on several occasions, has recognized talented Filipinos for their outstanding achievements and contributions to humanity;

WHEREAS, the Philippines shares in the pride earned by the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW), an international organization tasked by contracting States to monitor and stand guard over the global prohibition against chemical weapons, whose 10 Filipino members, namely: Franz Ontal, Criselda Javelosa van Dasler, Helen Andriessen, Gemma van Oudheusden-Vincoy, Jenniefer Balatbat, Allan Laroza, Roycelynne Reyes, Mary Ann Nieto-Schroor, Michael Conche, and Emily Castriciones were part of the team which won the distinguished Nobel Peace Prize;

WHEREAS, the use of chemical weapons in conflicts, such as in the recent struggle in Syria, leads to horrific and heinous biological, ecological, and environmental consequences thereby wreaking untold devastation in the lives of persons within affected areas;

WHEREAS, the Nobel Committee awarded the OPCW with the Nobel Peace Prize for 2013 in recognition of the institution's tireless and humble efforts and increasing success as a global watchdog against chemical warfare that have advanced the goal of eradicating the use of chemical weapons;

WHEREAS, the Nobel Peace Prize is the most prestigious international prize awarded annually to individuals and institutions who have accomplished the best work towards the building of "fraternity between nations", the "abolition or reduction of standing armies", and the "holding and promotion of peace congresses";

WHEREAS, the dedicated advocacy of these 10 Filipino members exemplifies the talent, skill and intelligence of the Filipino, thereby making Filipino talent as truly international in caliber: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved, That the Senate of the Philippines, with deep pride and honor, commend and congratulate the Filipino members of the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons for being part of the team that won a Nobel Peace Prize for 2013, namely:

- 1) Franz Ontal
- 2) Criselda Javelosa van Dasler
- 3) Helen Andriessen
- 4) Gemma van Oudheusden-Vincoy
- 5) Jenniefer Balatbat
- 6) Allan Laroza

- 7) Roycelynne Reyes
- 8) Mary Ann Nieto-Schroor
- 9) Michael Conche
- 10) Emily Castriciones

Adopted,

FRANKLIN M. DRILON

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 29, 2014.

OSCAR G. YABES Secretary of the Senate