P. S. Res. Nos 207, 209, 215 and 231

Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Senate

Pasay City

Sixteenth Congress

First Regular Session

## RESOLUTION No. 3

RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING THE OUTSTANDING TEACHERS OF 2013 AWARDED BY THE METROBANK FOUNDATION, INC.

WHEREAS, next to our parents, teachers have the most impact on our lives, instilling in us good moral values and making a profound difference in the paths that we have chosen;

WHEREAS, the greatest role of a teacher is empowering the minds of their students and training them so that they may reach their fullest potential;

WHEREAS, we should recognize the essential role of teachers in educational advancement, as well as their important contributions in the development of humanity and modern society; WHEREAS, amidst the difficulties our teachers face, they remain reliable and dedicated in their duty of educating the youth;

WHEREAS, for the last 29 years since 1984, the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. has honored 316 outstanding teachers of the Philippines who have served as shining examples of dedication and commitment to the teaching profession;

WHEREAS, the recognition given by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. has made them the pride and joy not only of their respective schools and communities, but also of the nation as well;

WHEREAS, the Roll of Honor for the 2013 Search for Outstanding Teachers consists of four teachers in the elementary level, four in the secondary level and two in the higher education level, as follows:

FELY A. BATILOY
SPED - Integrated School for Exceptional Children,
Iloilo City

MITCHEL V. RODRIGUEZ, Ph.D. Odiongan Central School, Gingoog City

CHERRY G. VINLUAN Guagua Elementary School, Guagua, Pampanga

RODEL C. SAMPANG Pedro Guevara Elementary School, City of Manila

DOMINIQUE J. MAQUIRAN
University of the Philippines High School - Iloilo,
Iloilo City

MARCELO T. OTINGUEY Ampusongan National High School, Bakun, Benguet

MARIA TERESA M. BAUTISTA, Ed.D. Bacnotan National High School, Bacnotan, La Union

MARIA LORNA L. GARNACE Philippine Science High School-Eastern Visayas, Palo, Leyte

ALFREDO C. ROBLES, JR., Ph.D. De La Salle University, City of Manila

EMILYN Q. ESPIRITU, Ph.D. Ateneo de Manila University, Quezon City

WHEREAS, this recognition is a fitting tribute for educators who have excelled in their noble profession in the selfless pursuit of quality education;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate recognizes that the Filipino teacher's heroic dedication to their vocation has earned them the nation's highest respect: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved by the Senate of the Philippines, To honor and commend the ten outstanding teachers of 2013 chosen by Metrobank Foundation, Inc.

Adopted,

FRANKLIN M. DRILOP

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on September 2, 2013.

OSCAR G. YABES
Secretary of the Senate