Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Senate

Pasay City

Sixteenth Congress

First Regular Session

Resolution No. 31

RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE RECIPIENTS OF "THE OUTSTANDING YOUNG MEN" (TOYM) OF THE PHILIPPINES 2013 AWARD

WHEREAS, "The Outstanding Young Men" (TOYM) Awards is an annual project organized and presented by the Junior Chamber International-Philippines, otherwise known as the Philippine Jaycees, the Gerry Roxas Foundation, Inc., and the TOYM Foundation, Inc., since 1959;

WHEREAS, the TOYM Awards seeks to recognize young men and women whose selfless dedication to their profession and fields of endeavor resulted in significant contributions to Philippine growth thereby benefitting the Filipino people;

WHEREAS, the Junior Chamber International-Philippines, chose nine exceptional individuals from the long list of nominees to receive the respected TOYM Award that would best embody this year's theme, "Heroes Need Heroes"; WHEREAS, Emerson Atanacio, president and CEO of the National College of Science and Technology, is not only the youngest Filipino to hold such positions in a college, but is further hailed as the Father of Manufacturing and Production Technology Education, a program that serves as a valuable tool in the alleviation of poverty in the country by encouraging school drop outs to re-integrate into the educational system;

WHEREAS, Nicole Paula Curato, a professor in the University of the Philippines who is consistently hailed by students as one of the best professors in the premier state university, has stood out as a critical voice for political watchdogs by promoting democratic literacy through projects such as the UP Fact Check launched for the 2013 elections as well as by writing thought-provoking commentaries on politics, social justice, and ethics;

WHEREAS, Custer Deocaris, one of the most published Filipino scientists with 79 publications and several publication awards and the founder of the nongovernment organization *Luntiang Lunes*, brought particular distinction to the country with his work on immortalization, aging and mortalin/GRP 75, which yielded now-patented works for peptide vaccines and other molecular interventions that can manipulate aging and cancer-formation;

WHEREAS, Miguel Rene Dominguez, one of the best performing young politicians in the country, served as governor of Sarangani province in 2004 at the young age of 26 and earned the distinction and honor of putting the province ahead as a booming tourism and investment hub in the country;

WHEREAS, June Cheryl Cabal-Revilla is one of the founding members of *Gabay Guro*, a nongovernment organization whose goal is to strengthen the educational system in the country by providing computers, classrooms and Internet connectivity to public schools, and by promoting the competence and welfare of some 700 teacher-scholars and 40,000 teacher-trainees through scholarships, livelihood trainings, and programs for housing; WHEREAS, Alonzo Gabriel Al, an associate professor and university scientist at the University of the Philippines-Diliman campus, contributed greatly to the field of food science and technology by making his research findings freely available to other scientists, researchers and the general public when he chose not to patent his research and instead open his intellectual property and proprietary rights over his work thereby benefitting the food industry, particularly the micro and small enterprises as well as small scale farmers and fisherfolk:

WHEREAS, Dr. Karl Michael Reyes pioneered and promoted the growth of the health sector as regards congenital heart diseases by establishing the first private Center for Congenital Heart Disease in the Philippines, thereby promoting not only national medical tourism but also making available crucial health services needed by Filipinos; by leading the Philippine Chapter of the Gift of Life International Program, an international organization providing treatments for congenital heart disease and offering training missions; and by establishing Operation Heart Foundation, Inc., which coordinates medical and surgical heart treatments for patients and places donor funding for patient care;

WHEREAS, Dr. Paolo Antonio S. Silva, a distinguished instructor at Harvard Medical School who returned to the country to practice his profession and help his countrymen, directed the local efforts of the Joslin Vision Network, a telemedicine-enabling technology developed by the Joslin Diabetes Center in Harvard Medical School and led the establishment of the first teleophthalmology program for diabetic retinal disease in the Philippines for which he is the co-director at Medical City Hospital which has aided hundreds of Filipinos;

WHEREAS, Christopher John Alandy Tiu, a professional basketball player in the Philippine Basketball Association, served as a model in shaping the values of today's Filipino youth through his example of hard work, humility, perseverance and sacrifice as seen through his dedication as member and team captain, for the period of 2008 to 2012, of Smart Gilas, the country's national team for basketball, and through his success and unwavering fortitude of character in the face of the challenges he faced as an entrepreneur, TV host, product endorser and civil servant;

WHEREAS, this year's awardees will join the ranks of outstanding Filipinos who have been honored by the Junior Chamber International-Philippines throughout the past 54 years; WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate proudly joins the Junior Chamber International-Philippines, Inc., the Gerry Roxas Foundation, Inc., and the TOYM Foundation, Inc. in congratulating and commending the Filipinos who have proven their mettle for service of the greater good through "The Outstanding Young Men" (TOYM) of the Philippines 2013: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved, That the Senate of the Philippines congratulate and commend the recipients of "The Outstanding Young Men" (TOYM) of the Philippines 2013 award, namely:

1) Emerson Atanacio for Social Entrepreneurship

2) Nicole Paula Curato for Sociology

3) Custer Deocaris for Science Communications

4) Miguel Rene Dominguez for Government and Public Service

5) June Cheryl Cabal-Revilla for Community Service

6) Alonzo Gabriel for Food Science and Technology

7) Karl Michael Reyes for Medicine

8) Paolo Antonio S. Silva for Medicine

9) Christopher John Alandy Tiu for Youth Leadership Development.

Adopted,

FRANKLIN M. DRILON President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 29, 2014.

0

OSCAR G. YABES

Secretary of the Senate

.....

4