P. S. Res. Nos. 376 and 386

> Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

> > Senate

Pasay City

Sixteenth Congress

First Regular Session

## RESOLUTION No. 40

RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE 2013 AWARDEES OF "THE OUTSTANDING WOMEN IN THE NATION'S SERVICE" CONFERRED BY THE TOWNS FOUNDATION, IN PARTNERSHIP WITH THE METROBANK FOUNDATION, INC. AND THE METROBANK CARD CORPORATION

WHEREAS, "The Outstanding Women in the Nation's Service" search is undertaken by the TOWNS Foundation, in partnership with the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. and the Metrobank Card Corporation to recognize exceptional Filipino women, aged 21 to 45 years old, whose selfless contribution to society helped shape our country's future and promoted economic, social and cultural development;

WHEREAS, given once every three (3) years, the award has been bestowed on 149 exemplary women since the inception of the TOWNS search in 1974;

WHEREAS, the 2013 TOWNS awardees were selected from 51 nominees who went through a rigorous screening process, after which, selected finalists moved on for final judging and were interviewed by the Final Board of Judges headed by Chief Justice Maria Lourdes P.A. Sereno and composed of members: Dr. William Padolina (renowned biologist, Chairman of the Board of Euro-Med Laboratories Philippines Inc., and former Secretary of the Department of Science and Technology), Dr. Esperanza Cabral (former Secretary of the Department of Health and the Department of Social Welfare and Development), Lilia de Lima (PEZA Director General and Chairman of the Board), and Nestor Jardin (President of the Cinemalaya Foundation, Inc. and former President of the Cultural Center of the Philippines);

WHEREAS, the 2013 awardees for TOWNS are Kristin Karen L. Davila for her contribution to the media sector; Maria Rachelle R. Gerodias for her contribution to the performing arts; Dr. Ma. Amihan B. Ramolete for her contribution to the theater arts; Noraida Adang Abdullah Karim for her contribution in the sphere of social work; Eleanor Rosa I. Pinugu for her contribution to the field of social entrepreneurship and education; Ani Karina de Leon-Brown for her contribution to sports; Dr. Gemma Teresa T. Narisma for her contribution to the field of atmospheric science; Dr. Maricor Soriano for her contribution to the field of applied physics; and Atty. Darlene Berberabe for her contribution in the sphere of government service;

WHEREAS, this year's winners will join the ranks of remarkable women honored by the Foundation over the last 39 years and will automatically become members of TOWNS Foundation, Inc., which is a national organization "of dynamic and effective women who by their common shared activities help transform the lives of Filipinos";

WHEREAS, the Senate of the Philippines proudly joins the TOWNS Foundation, the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. and the Metrobank Card Corporation in congratulating and commending the women who have served as pillars for continuing excellence for and made deep impacts in their respective spheres of influence through the 2013 The Outstanding Women in Nation's Service Award: Now, therefore, be it

ļ

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved, That the Senate of the Philippines congratulates and commends the 2013 awardees of "The Outstanding Women in the Nation's Service" conferred by the TOWNS Foundation, in partnership with the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. and the Metrobank Card Corporation—

- 1. Kristin Karen L. Davila for Media
- 2. Maria Rachelle R. Gerodias for Performing Arts
- 3. Dr. Ma. Amihan B. Ramolete for Theater Arts
- 4. Noraida Adang Abdullah Karim for Social Work
- 5. Eleanor Rosa I. Pinugu for Social Entrepreneurship and Education
- 6. Ani Karina de Leon-Brown for Sports
- 7. Dr. Gemma Teresa T. Narisma for Atmospheric Science
- 8. Dr. Maricor N. Soriano for Applied Physics
- 9. Atty. Darlene Marie B. Berberabe for Government Service

Adopted,

FRANKLIN M. DRILON
President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 6, 2014.

OSCAR S. YABES Secretary of the Senate