P. S. Res. Nos. 836 and 858

> Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Senate

> > 3th 60+1

Pasay City

Sixteenth Congress

Second Regular Session

RESOLUTION No. 47

RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE METROBANK FOUNDATION'S OUTSTANDING TEACHERS OF 2014

WHEREAS, the annual Metrobank Foundation's Search for Outstanding Teachers (SOT) was started in 1984 or three (3) decades ago with the aim of bestowing due recognition and honor to teachers who devote their lives to the noble profession of molding the minds of our youth and teaching them with important values, with remarkable dedication and exemplary competence;

WHEREAS, now on its 30th year of this annual search, Metrobank Foundation, Inc. has been unwavering in its commitment to honor these outstanding teachers, who fittingly

serve as models of excellence that others, in the same profession or otherwise, could emulate;

WHEREAS, the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. has so far honored three hundred twenty-six (326) outstanding teachers of the Philippines, who serve as shining examples of untiring dedication and commitment to the teaching profession, and who have given so much pride and joy not only to their respective schools and communities, but to the nation as well;

WHEREAS, the Senate of the Philippines continues to recognize the heroic dedication of the Filipino teachers to their vocation and maintains its highest respect for teaching as among the noblest of all professions;

WHEREAS, the outstanding teachers of our time deserve our accolade considering that next to our parents, the teachers have the most impact on our lives, as they instill in the minds of their students good moral values, as well as empower and train them to reach their fullest potential;

WHEREAS, we should recognize the essential role of the teachers in educational advancement, their important contributions in the development of humanity and modern society, and their rights as members of a highly regarded profession;

WHEREAS, amidst the challenges and difficulties they face, our teachers remain reliable and committed to their avowed duty of educating the youth;

WHEREAS, the Senate of the Philippines gives due recognition to the Outstanding Teachers of 2014 chosen by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc., consisting of four (4) teachers in the elementary, four (4) in secondary and two (2) in the higher education levels, namely:

ANNA BELLA F. ABELLERA Naga Central School 1 Naga City

SHARON ROSE P. PUYO Cabadbaran South Central Elementary School SPED Center Cabadbaran City, Agusan del Norte ENERIO E. EBISA, Ph.D. Doña Juana Actub Lluch Memorial Central School Iligan City

ALLAN MOORE S. CABRILLAS, Ph.D. San Jose West Central School San Jose City, Nueva Ecija

JUANITO A. MERLE, Ed.D. Talipan National High School Pagbilao, Quezon

JESUS C. INSILADA, Ed.D. Alcarde Gustilo Memorial National High School Calinog, Iloilo

MATROSE P. GALARION, Ph.D. Angeles City National High School Angeles City

NOEL V. IBIS, Ph.D. Vinzons Pilot High School Vinzons, Camarines Norte

RESURRECCION B. SADABA, Ph.D. University of the Philippines – Visayas Miag-ao, Iloilo

TEODORA D. BALANGCOD, Ph.D. University of the Philippines – Baguio Baguio City

WHEREAS, this recognition is intended not only as a fitting tribute for educators who have excelled in the profession, but also to draw inspiration from their exceptional and selfless contribution to the pursuit of quality education;

WHEREAS, this recognition should inspire other teachers and even workers in other professions to perform outstanding service so that our youth will have a better future;

WHEREAS, we all aspire to enhance the country's quality of education by supporting genuine efforts to motivate our teachers, retrain and reward them for their life's work: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved, To congratulate and commend the aforementioned ten (10) Outstanding Teachers of 2014, chosen by Metrobank Foundation, Inc., for their exemplary dedication, competence and service.

Adopted,

FRANKLIN M. DRILON

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on September 1, 2014.

OSCAR O. YABES
Secretary of the Senate