Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Senate

Pasay City

Sixteenth Congress

Second Regular Session

RESOLUTION NO. 49

RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE PHILIPPINES' TEN OUTSTANDING POLICE OFFICERS IN SERVICE (C.O.P.S.) OF 2014 AS SELECTED AND SPONSORED BY METROBANK FOUNDATION, PS BANK AND THE ROTARY CLUB OF NEW MANILA EAST

WHEREAS, the Search for the Country's Outstanding Police Officers in Service (COPS) is an annual recognition program jointly undertaken by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc., Rotary Club of New Manila East, and PSBank that aims to honor models of professionalism, competence, dedication and integrity among the one hundred forty eight thousand members of the Philippine National Police; WHEREAS, the Search is an expression of the civilian sector's appreciation and gratitude to the effort of the Philippine National Police (PNP) in maintaining the peace and order situation in the country;

WHEREAS, COPS serves as the social contract of the Metrobank Foundation, Rotary Club of New Manila East and PSBank with the police force that will advance the welfare of the PNP and contribute in the realization of the Integrated Transformation Program of having the institution as a highly capable, effective and credible police service working in partnership with a responsive community;

WHEREAS, the Search seeks to honor the gallant men and women in the police force for their consistent outstanding contributions in preventing and solving crime through community work and mobilization;

WHEREAS, the Search emphasizes the need to situate the punitive aspect of law enforcement with the task of community relations and promotes police work as a shared responsibility between the Police Officers and the community;

WHEREAS, the competition awards a maximum of ten (10) winners which shall be chosen from among all the Police Commissioned Officers with a rank of Police Inspector to Police Senior Superintendent and Police Non Commissioned Officers with a rank of Police Officer 1 to Senior Police Officer 4;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate proudly joins the Metrobank Foundation, Inc., Rotary Club of New Manila East, and PSBank in congratulating and commending the Police Officers who have actively solicited, mobilized, involved and organized the community to become fellow vanguards of the community through the 2014 Metrobank Foundation, Search for the Country's Outstanding Police Officers in Service;

WHEREAS, the Roll of Honor for this year's winners of COPS consist of four (4) Police Commissioned Officers and six (6) Non Commissioned Officers: Now, therefore, be it Resolved, as it is hereby resolved by the Philippine Senate, To congratulate and commend the Philippines' Ten Outstanding Police Officers in Service of 2014 as selected by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc., PS Bank and the Rotary Club of New Manila East, namely:

From the Police Commissioned Officers Category:

- 1. Police Senior Superintendent CEDRICK GAYONA TRAIN
- 2. Police Senior Superintendent RODELIO BALZA JOCSON
- 3. Police Chief Inspector BYRON FILOG ALLATOG
- 4. Police Chief Inspector REYNALD ESTRADA ARINO

From the Police Non Commissioned Officers Category:

- 5. Police Officer 3 MICHAEL DALISAY PONTOY
- 6. Senior Police Officer 1 REYNALDO GRANADA SOLANTE
- 7. Police Officer 2 ARSHEAR USMAN ISMAEL
- 8. Police Officer 3 ALEXANDER BARADILLO FAZON, JR.
- 9. Senior Police Officer 1 REY HINAUTAN SARCON
- 10. Police Officer 3 COMET DIMLA DUMANGENG

Adopted,

DRILON President of the Senate

This Resolution was unanimously adopted by the Senate on September 1, 2014.

0

OSCAR G Secretary of the Senate