Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Senate

Pasay City

Sixteenth Congress

Second Regular Session

RESOLUTION NO. 73

_

RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE RECIPIENTS OF "THE OUTSTANDING YOUNG MEN" (TOYM) OF THE PHILIPPINES 2014 AWARD HONORED BY THE JUNIOR CHAMBER INTERNATIONAL-PHILIPPINES, INC., TOYM FOUNDATION, INC., AND GERRY ROXAS FOUNDATION, INC.

WHEREAS, "The Outstanding Young Men" (TOYM) Awards is an annual project organized and presented by the Junior Chamber International – Philippines otherwise known as the Philippine Jaycees, the Gerry Roxas Foundation, Inc., and the TOYM Foundation, Inc., since 1959;

WHEREAS, the TOYM Awards seeks to recognize young men and women whose selfless dedication to their profession and fields of endeavor significantly contributed to Philippine growth thereby benefitting the Filipino people; WHEREAS, from the long list of nominees the Junior Chamber International-Philippines chose these exceptional individuals to receive the esteemed TOYM Award that would best personify this year's theme, which is "Changing The Future Through Excellence", namely:

- Marlyn B. Alonte-Naguiat, City of Biñan's youngest and first woman mayor, who has invested in the integration of necessary technology to streamline and simplify transactions with the city government, eliminate corruption, and address constituents' grievances thereby creating a business-friendly environment attracting locators to invest through Public-Private Partnerships and eventually making the municipality the richest in the province;

- Engr. Jessie Pascual P. Bitog who is cited for his achievements in science and technology particularly in the field of Agricultural Engineering who at a very young age of 36 has received recognitions from the scientific community for his research and publications related with Biosystems Engineering, Computers and Electronics in Agriculture, Agriculture and Forest Meteorology, Journal of Mechanical Engineering;

- Ma. Doris Dumlao, senior business reporter for the Philippine Daily Inquirer and this year's awardee for Journalism, who is being hailed for her numerous accolades among which are Google's 20 Most Influential Filipinas, Fashion One's 10 Women of Style and Substance, Asia Society's Asia 21 Young Leaders for 2011, and her invaluable contributions at the World Economic Forum's Global Advisory Council in Southeast Asia;

- Vicente Franco D. Frasco, Liloan's youngest mayor who was recognized for his unique style of leadership which transformed the sleepy town into a first class municipality with his trailblazing programs such as the purok system, and with instituting mechanisms that ensure his people access to quality education and healthcare;

- Dr. John Mark S. Velasco, Deputy Head of the Philippines Armed Forces Research Institute of Medical Sciences (AFRIMS) Virology Research Unit, who was honored for his efforts in the early detection of the pandemic (H1N1) 2009 strain among our soldiers that resulted to the early containment and control of said disease, and for his various contribution in the Medical Science and Public Health such as the reestablishment of the AFPMC Department of Research and Training, and the fund acquisition and design of several molecular laboratories for emerging diseases for the Department of Health;

 $\mathbf{2}$

- Atty. Oscar Franklin B. Tan. a noted columnist known for empowering ordinary Filipinos to explore law in our democracy with his articles, by simplifying high-level legal issues for the appreciation of the general public, regularly summarizing Supreme Court hearings thereby encouraging the public to follow the intellectual drama behind these cases as they happen, and highlight the law behind daily headlines:

WHEREAS, this year's awardees will join the ranks of outstanding Filipinos who have been honored by the Junior Chamber International - Philippines throughout the past 55 vears:

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate proudly joins the Junior Chamber International - Philippines Inc., TOYM Foundation, Inc., and the Gerry Roxas Foundation, Inc., in congratulating and commending the Filipinos who have proven their mettle for service of the greater good through the Outstanding Young Men (TOYM) of the Philippines 2014:

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved. That the Senate of the Philippines congratulates and commends the recipients of the "The Outstanding Young Men" (TOYM) of the Philippines 2014 award honored by the Junior Chamber International – Philippines, Inc., TOYM Foundation, Inc., and the Gerry Roxas Foundation, Inc., namely:

- 1 Marlyn B. Alonte-Naguiat for Government and Public Service
- 2. Engr. Jessie Pascual P. Bitog. Ph.D. for Agricultural Engineering Ma. Doris C. Dumlao for Journalism
- 8.
- Vincent Franco D. Frasco for Public Administration 4.
- Dr. John Mark Velasco for Medical Science and 5 Public Health
- Atty. Oscar Franklin B. Tan for Law 6.

Adopted.

M. DRILON President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 10, 2015.

0

OSCAR G. YABES

Secretary of the Senate