Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Senate

Pasay City

Seventeenth Congress

Second Regular Session

## RESOLUTION No. 59

RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE 2017 GAWAD SA PINAKATANGING KOOPERATIBA (GAWAD PITAK) OUTSTANDING AGRICULTURE AND NON-AGRICULTURE-BASED COOPERATIVES HONORED BY THE LANDBANK OF THE PHILIPPINES ON 14 AUGUST 2017 AT THE PHILIPPINE INTERNATIONAL CONVENTION CENTER IN PASAY CITY, PHILIPPINES

WHEREAS, the Gawad sa Pinakatanging Kooperatiba or Gawad PITAK is an annual search undertaken by the Land Bank of the Philippines (Land Bank) that recognizes cooperatives which exemplified the social responsibility of being agents of growth in the countryside;

WHEREAS, launched in 1990, the Gawad PITAK is the country's most prestigious award for cooperatives and is awarded to Land Bank-assisted agriculture and non-agriculture-based cooperatives in the country that serve as effective channels in providing support, financial or technical, to the economic endeavors of small farmers, fisher folk and other marginalized sectors in our society;

WHEREAS, contenders for Gawad PITAK Outstanding Agriculture and Non-Agriculture-Based Cooperatives underwent a series of evaluation and screening as nominated cooperatives were trimmed down initially via table and field validation conducted by the Technical Working Group (TWG) composed of Land Bank personnel and representatives from the Senate, House of Representatives, Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR), Department of Agriculture (DA), and the Cooperative Development Authority (CDA);

WHEREAS, after the initial screening, the Program Management Committee (PMC) deliberated on the assessment made by the TWG and endorsed the short-listed cooperatives to the Board of Judges (BOJ) for final judging by this year's panel headed by the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Cooperatives as Chairperson, with Representative Rico B. Geron, the Chairman of the House Committee on Cooperatives Development as Co-Chairperson, Mr. Alex V. Buenaventura, President and CEO of the Land Bank of the Philippines as Vice Chairperson, and members: DA Secretary Manuel F. Piñol, DAR Secretary Rafael V. Mariano, and CDA Chairman Orlando R. Rayanera:

WHEREAS, the Board of Judges selected five (5) winners each for the agriculture and non-agriculture-based category and this year's winners will join the ranks of 197 other outstanding cooperatives awarded in its 27 years history;

WHEREAS, for the most outstanding agriculture-based cooperatives, the Land Bank of the Philippines awards the Gawad PITAK to the following:

- $1^{\rm st}$  Bontoc Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Bontoc, Southern Leyte
  - 2<sup>nd</sup> Libacao Development Cooperative of Libacao, Aklan
- 3<sup>rd</sup> Batangas Sugar Planters Cooperative Marketing Association of Balayan, Batangas
- 4<sup>th</sup> Bantug Agricultural Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Talavera, Nueva Ecija
- $5^{\rm th}$  Kooperatiba Naton Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Tigbauan, Iloilo

WHEREAS, the Land Bank of the Philippines awards the Gawad PITAK to the most outstanding non-agriculturebased cooperatives, namely:

- 1<sup>st</sup> Abra Diocesan Teachers and Employees Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Bangued, Abra
- $2^{\rm nd}$  Pinoy Lingap Damayan Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Virac, Catanduanes
- $3^{\rm rd}$  Watchlife Workers Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Mariveles, Bataan
- $4^{\text{th}}$  Providers Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Naguilian, Isabela
- $5^{
  m th}$  Golden Group Gabay Puhunan Brotherhood Multi-Purpose Cooperative of the City of San Fernando, Pampanga

WHEREAS, the Senate of the Philippines proudly joins the Land Bank of the Philippines in acknowledging the vital role of cooperatives in the nation's social and economic progress by stimulating development at the grassroots level through the 2017 Gawad sa Pinakatanging Kooperatiba or Gawad PITAK: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved, That the Senate of the Philippines congratulates and commends the 2017 Gawad sa Pinakatanging Kooperatiba (Gawad PITAK) Outstanding Agriculture and Non-Agriculture-Based Cooperatives honored by the Land Bank of the Philippines on 14 August 2017 at the Philippine International Convention Center in Pasay City, Philippines.

Adopted,

AQUÍLINO "KOKO" PIMENTEL III

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on August 15, 2017.

LUTGARDO B. BARBO

Secretary of the Senate