Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Senate

Pasay City

Fighteenth Congress

First Regular Session

RESOLUTION No. 29

RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE PHILIPPINE NATIONAL TEAM FOR KICKBOXING FOR ITS STERLING PERFORMANCE IN THE 30TH SOUTHEAST ASIAN GAMES

WHEREAS, founded in 2007 by then Tagaytay City Mayor Abraham Bambol Tolentino, the Samahang Kickboxing ng Pilipinas, Inc. (SKP), under the presidency of Senator Francis N. Tolentino, was finally allowed in early 2019 by the Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) to become its associate;

WHEREAS, as kickboxing was chosen as one of the sports to be played in the 30th Southeast Asian Games (SEA Games),

the executives of SKP under the leadership of Senator Tolentino at once drew the master plan and made the initial preparation for the 2019 edition of the regional sports meet among Southeast Asian counties;

WHEREAS, as part of the preparation for the 30th SEA Games, a selection process to choose the composition of the final pool for the biennial meet was conducted by the SKP through regional tryouts from the North to South, which finally culminated in a three-day national tryout in Tagaytay City;

WHEREAS, as a result of the extensive tryouts, Gina Iniong, Jerry Olsim, Jean Claude Saclag, Jomar Balangui, Renalyn Dacquel, Karol Maguide, Rex De Lara, and Ruel Catalan won their rights to constitute the eight-man lineup, complemented by Mark Sangiao, Glenn Mondol, and Donnie Geisler, as coaches, and Randy Caluag, as head coach;

WHEREAS, the members of the Philippine Kickboxing Team had sacrificed a lot, giving their hearts and souls in the exhaustive trainings in several foreign territories, such as Taipei and Cambodia, and in the high altitudes of La Trinidad, Benguet, but their sacrifices and hard work did not go to waste as the Philippines won a total of six (6) medals in kickboxing, three (3) golds, two (2) silvers, and one (1) bronze;

WHEREAS, the SEA Games medalists in kickboxing for the Philippines are as follows: Gold medalists – Jerry Olsim of Baguio City, Gina Iniong of Baguio City, and Jean Claude Saclag of Baguio City; Silver medalists – Renalyn Dacquel of Manabo, Abra and Jomar Balangui of Kalinga; and Bronze medalist – Karol Maguide of Benguet;

WHEREAS, the honor and glory brought by the Philippine National Team for Kickboxing, composed of the athletes, coaches, and executives of SKP, truly deserves the commendation of this august Body and the Filipino nation, as well: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the Senate, To commend and congratulate, as it hereby commends and congratulates, the Philippine National Team for Kickboxing for its sterling performance in the 30th Southeast Asian Games.

Adopted,

VICENTE C. SOTTO III

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on December 11, 2019.

MYRA MARIE D. VILLARICA

Secretary of the Senate