Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Senate

Pasay City

Eighteenth Congress

First Regular Session

RESOLUTION No. 4

RESOLUTION HONORING THE SERVICE AND CONTRIBUTIONS OF THE LATE MAJOR GENERAL JOSE V. BALAJADIA JR., AFP (RETIRED), SERGEANT-AT-ARMS, SENATE OF THE PHILIPPINES

WHEREAS, the Senate of the Philippines performs its duty for the Filipino people through untiring service of civil servants who dedicated their lives for a lifetime of service for the Filipino;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate recognizes outstanding Senate employees who rendered valuable service to the Senate with outmost loyalty, professionalism, integrity and competence; WHEREAS, a personification of an outstanding Senate employee, Major General Jose V. Balajadia Jr., AFP (Retired) served as the Sergeant-At-Arms of the Senate of the Philippines for seventeen (17) years from 2002-2019;

WHEREAS, Major General Jose V. Balajadia Jr., AFP (Retired), as Senate Sergeant-At-Arms, was instrumental in keeping discipline, security and enforcing the law at the Senate, in all of its affairs including celebrated committee hearings notably in the Blue Ribbon Committee and several controversial political events involving the Philippine Senate;

WHEREAS, prior to his service with the Philippine Senate, Major General Balajadia Jr. spent his younger years as an officer and a pilot of the Philippine Air Force, with thirty-eight (38) years of decorated service;

WHEREAS, Major General Balajadia Jr. rose from the ranks in the military as 2nd Lieutenant in 1964 (reserved) to Major General under GO#31262GHQAFP on 28 September 1998;

WHEREAS, throughout his career, Major General Balajadia Jr. performed key roles as (1) Squadron Commander of the 6th Tactical Fighter Squadron of the Philippine Air Force from 1976-1978; (2) team leader of the highly esteemed Blue Diamond Philippine Airforce Aerobatic Group in 1977; (3) Deputy Commander of the Armed Forces of the Philippines Southern Command in Zamboanga in 1994; (4) Executive Officer of the Clark Air Base Command, when Clark Air Base was still under the US Air Force; (5) Officer-In-Charge of Rescue and Relief Operations at Clark Air Base during the Mt. Pinatubo eruption in 1991; (6) Commanding Officer of the airlift operations at Loakan Airport during the 1990 Baguio Earthquake: (7) Wing Commander of the 600th Air Base Wing in Clark and concurrent Commander of Air Reserve Command from 1995-1998; and Deputy Chief of Staff of Reservist and Retiree Affairs from 1998-1999;

WHEREAS, a bemedaled and decorated military officer, Major General Balajadia Jr. was a recipient of: (1) Silver Wing Medal twice (GO#39HPAF and GO#39HSC); (2) Distinguished Service Star (GO#420, and GHQAFP) in 1993; (3) Gawad sa Kaunlaran twice (Award in Development, GO#314HQAFP and GO#131HSC) in April 1991 and Febraury 1995 by the Armed Forces of the Philippines; (4) Bronze Cross Medal thrice (GO#52HIAD, GO#82HSC and GO#118HSC) on June 1994 and February 1995; (5) Military Merit Medal (MMM) 7 times; (6) Military Commendation Medal (MCN) twice; (7) Military Civic Action Medal (MCAM) 4 times from 1973 to 1993; (8) Kahusayan Award (GO#17HPAF) in 14 August 1970; (9) Mutual Defense Award (CG, PAF) in 30 September 1986; (10) Award of the February 1986 Revolution Ribbon (GO#219GHQAFP) in 14 October 1988 and Award of the AFP Combat Badge (Kagitingan; GO#42CNLC) in 25 February 1993;

WHEREAS, on 7 July 2019, around 2:00 am, at 75 years old Major General Balajadia Jr., AFP (Retired) joined the Lord, leaving behind a legacy of fifty-five (55) years of solid service with the Armed Forces of the Philippines and the Senate of the Philippines: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved by the Senate, To honor the late Major General Jose V. Balajadia Jr., AFP (Retired) for his great service, achievements and contributions to the Senate and to the Filipino people as a soldier and civil servant par excellence who served as the Senate Sergeant-At-Arms for seventeen (17) years from 2002-2019.

Adopted.

VICENTE C. SOTTO III

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 24, 2019.

MYRA MARIE D. VILLARICA

nalasa ?

Secretary of the Senate