Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Senate

Pasay City

Fighteenth Congress

First Regular Session

RESOLUTION NO. 6

RESOLUTION AMENDING SECTION 13 (4) (22) (28) (29), AND (34) RULE X OF THE RULES OF THE SENATE

Resolved by the Senate, To divide, as it hereby divides, the Committee on Education, Arts and Culture into two separate standing committees to be known as the Committee on Basic Education, Arts, and Culture and the Committee on Higher, Technical, and Vocational Education, and increasing the committee membership of the Committee on Finance, Committee on Public Services, Committee on Public Information and Mass Media, and Committee on Tourism amending for the purpose Section 13 (4) (22) (28)

(29), and (34) Rule X of the Senate Rules, to read as follows:

"RULE X The Committees

"Sec. 13. After the organization of the Senate in the manner provided in Rule IX, the following permanent committees shall be formed, with the duties, powers and general jurisdiction specified bereunder:

- "1) Committee on Rules. x x x
- "2) Committee on Ethics and Privileges. x x x
 - "3) Committee on Accounts. x x x
- "4) Committee on Finance. Twenty (20) members. All matters relating to funds for the expenditures of the National Government and for the payment of public indebtedness; auditing of accounts and expenditures of the National Government; claims against the government; inter-governmental revenue sharing; and, in general, all matters relating to public expenditures.

"x x x

"22) Committee on Basic Education, Arts and Culture. - Fifteen (15) members. All matters directly and principally relating to early childhood care and education, pre-school, kindergarten, primary and secondary education, science high schools except the Philippine Science High School system, teachers and students welfare, teacher education and competency, non-formal, informal, indigenous learning systems, special education and community adult education; inclusive education,

scholarships, grants, subsidies and incentives to deserving students; the national language establishment and maintenance of, libraries, museums, shrines, monuments, and other historical sites and edifices; training programs and cultural and artistic programs of international institutions and organizations operating in the Philippines, such as the UNESCO; and the preservation, enrichment and evolution of Filipino arts and culture.

- "23) Committee on Higher, Technical and Vocational Education. Fifteen (15) members. All matters directly and principally relating to post-secondary and tertiary education, technical education, distance education, vocational education, students and teachers' welfare, centers of excellence, scholarships, grants, subsidies and incentives to deserving students.
- "24) Committee on Health and Demography.
 x x x
- "25) Committee on Environment and Natural Resources. – x x x
 - "26) Committee on Energy. x x x
- "27) Committee on Science and Technology.

 x x x
- "28) Committee on Social Justice, Welfare and Rural Development. x x x
- "29) Committee on Public Services. Thirteen (13) members. All matters affecting public services and utilities; communications; land, air, river and sea transportation including railroads, inter-island navigation, and lighthouses; and the grant or amendment of legislative franchises.

- "30) Committee on Public Information and Mass Media. Eleven (11) members. All matters relating to public information, mass communication and broadcast services; the implementation of the provisions of the Constitution regarding ownership and management of mass media and the advertising industry; the development and promotion of information technology; and all matters relating to the artistic standards and quality of the motion picture and television industry.
- "31) Committee on Constitutional Amendments and Revision of Codes. x x x
- "32) Committee on Civil Service, Government Reorganization and Professional Regulation. – x x x
- "33) Committee on Public Order and Dangerous Drugs. - x x x
- "34) Committee on Women, Children, Family Relations and Gender Equality. – x x x
- "35) Committee on Tourism. Eleven (11) members. All matters relating to tourism and tourist industry.
- "36) Committee on Games and Amusement.
 x x x
 - "37) Committee on Sports. x x x
- "38) Committee on Accountability of Public Officers and Investigations. – x x x
 - "39) Committee on Climate Change. x x x

"40) Committee on Electoral Reforms and People's Participation. – x x x

"41) Committee on Youth. - x x x."

Adopted,

VICENTE C. SOTTO III

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 31, 2019.

MYRA MARIE D. VILLARICA

Secretary of the Senate