Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Senate

Pasay City

Nineteenth Congress

Second Regular Session

RESOLUTION No. 109

RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE MEMBERS OF THE SENATE LADY DEFENDERS TEAM FOR WINNING THE SILVER MEDAL IN THE UNTV VOLLEYBALL LEAGUE

WHEREAS, Article XIV, Section 19 of the Constitution mandates that "the State shall promote physical education and encourage sports programs, league competitions, and amateur sports, including training for international competitions, to foster self-discipline, teamwork, and excellence for the development of a healthy and alert citizenry";

WHEREAS, the UNTV Volleyball League is a tournament for public servants dedicated to charity works in the Philippines; WHEREAS, the Senate's team, dubbed as Senate Lady Defenders, won the silver medal in the first season of the UNTV Volleyball League;

WHEREAS, the Senate Lady Defenders is composed of Senate staff and employees including Marla Katrina Carandang, Candice Cerezo, Carina Dellosa, Jamielyn Dilidili, Marvee Anne Felipe, Famirexie Gallares, Rachelle Inid, Mary Joy Ojo, Joann Pangilinan, Ellen Pantanosas, Francia Torres-Roque, and Jessica Vinluan; import players Jewel Hannah Lai, Katherine Villegas, Marie Shiela Cecilio, and Mary Grace Palabrica; head coach Rogelio Gorayeb; and assistant coaches Clint Malazo, Allen Albert De Guzman, Melyn Santacera, and Janica Layne Lai;

WHEREAS, the Senate Lady Defenders exhibited exemplary performance and teamwork while competing against teams representing government agencies throughout the tournament;

WHEREAS, the remarkable silver medal win of the Senate team, with the support of all the staff and personnel rallying behind them, has brought pride and honor to the esteemed institution: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the Senate of the Philippines, To commend and congratulate the members of the Senate Lady Defenders for winning the silver medal in the UNTV Volleyball League.

Adopted,

JUAN MIGUEL F. ZUBIRI
President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 6, 2024.

RENATO N. BANTUG Jr.
Secretary of the Senate

0