Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Senate

Pasay City

Nineteenth Congress

First Regular Session

RESOLUTION No. 22

RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING THE EIGHT NEW NATIONAL ARTISTS BY VIRTUE OF PRESIDENTIAL PROCLAMATION NO. 1390

WHEREAS, the Order of National Artists was established under Proclamation No. 1001, s. 1972, in order to recognize certain Filipinos who have distinguished themselves and made exceptional contributions to Philippine Arts and Letters;

WHEREAS, since then, this distinction, which is in recognition of exemplary contribution in various fields such as music, dance, theater, visual arts, literature, architecture or allied arts, and film and broadcast arts, has been bequeathed to numerous individuals deemed worthy of the commendation;

WHEREAS, on June 10, 2022, by virtue of Proclamation No. 1390, President Rodrigo Roa Duterte conferred the Order of National Artists to eight Filipino artists namely:

Agnes Locsin for Dance, who incorporated our rituals and ethnic traditions in choreography and was hailed as one of the "most progressive contemporary choreographers in the Philippines";

Salvacion Lim-Higgins for Design, who masterfully innovated the *terno* and expertly used indigenous materials such as $pi\tilde{n}a$ and jusi in modern dresses;

Nora Aunor for Film and Broadcast Arts, whose extensive filmography and works in music and stage have for decades excellently depicted the realities of Filipino society;

Ricky Lee for Film and Broadcast Arts, a multi-awarded screenwriter and journalist known for his mastery of writing historical films and diasporic dramas;

Marilou Diaz-Abaya for Film and Broadcast Arts, an award-winning film and television director and screenwriter whose many notable works are part of the Philippines' "Second Golden Age of Cinema";

Gemino Abad for Literature, a prolific writer and anthologist whose historical anthologies provide a comprehensive view of Philippine poetry:

Fides Cuyugan-Asensio for Music, whose six decades in opera and music showcased the excellence of Philippine heritage and enriched Philippine opera and musical theater; and

Tony Mabesa for Theater, hailed as "the Lion of the Theater", a director, actor, and teacher whose works and teachings have greatly contributed to the growth of Philippine Theater;

WHEREAS, our National Artists, with their passion and dedication to their craft, have inspired and touched the lives of numerous Filipinos making their mark in our country's history: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved, by the Philippine Senate, To honor and commend the eight (8) new National Artists who, through their outstanding work in the field of culture and the arts, have contributed to nation-building and bringing pride and honor to the country.

Adopted,

JUAN MIGUEL F. ZUBIRI

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on September 28, 2022.

RENATO N. BANTUG Jr.
Secretary of the Senate