Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Senate

Pasay City

Nineteenth Congress

First Regular Session

RESOLUTION No. 65

RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE PHILIPPINE NATIONAL ARNIS TEAM AND THEIR COACHING STAFF FOR WINNING SIX GOLD MEDALS, TWO SILVER MEDALS, AND FOUR BRONZE MEDALS AT THE 32ND SOUTHEAST ASIAN GAMES HELD AT HALL A, CHROY CHANGVAR CONVENTION CENTRE, PHNOM PENH, CAMBODIA FROM 14 TO 16 MAY 2023

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate has consistently paid tribute to outstanding Filipinos for their astonishing feat of bringing pride and glory to the country by becoming champions in international sporting competitions;

WHEREAS, Arnis, the National Martial Art and Sport of the Philippines as declared in Republic Act No. 9850, was last featured in the Southeast Asian Games (SEA Games) in 2019 and has been included as a competitive sport for the 2023 SEA Games;

WHEREAS, the Arnis events of the SEA Games were held from 14 to 16 May 2023, and were divided into Live Stick, Padded Stick, and Anyo or Form categories for men and women, with the Live Stick and Padded Stick events further separated into two (2) weight divisions, and the Anyo events into individual and team categories;

WHEREAS, the Philippine National Arnis Team (PNAT) delivered strong performances against worthy competitors throughout all the categories, and managed the incredible feat of landing 12 podium finishes overall, with six gold medals, two silver medals, and four bronze medals across all the categories;

WHEREAS, this feat of PNAT made them the most bemedaled Philippine Team in the 32nd SEA Games;

WHEREAS, behind the remarkable achievement of the PNAT are the passionate and hardworking Philippine Eskrima Kali Arnis Federation (PEKAF) officials and coaching staff comprised of Delegation Head, Grandmaster Rene R. Tongson, Head Coach Richardson C. Gialogo, Assistant Coaches Aniano C. Lota Jr. and P/Capt. Reneto E. Tuñacao, Strength and Conditioning Coach Rodolfo Jay L. Garcia, trainers Joevannie M. Fajanil, Sgt. Julius B. Acosta, and Romualdo M. Francisco Jr., and no other than PEKAF Chairperson and President, Senate President Juan Miguel F. Zubiri, whose guidance and determination ultimately propelled our arnis team to success;

WHEREAS, the Philippine National Arnis Team is composed of the following men and women who brought pride and honor to the country:

Gold Medals

 Charllote Ann P. Tolentino - Women's Full Contact Padded Point under 50kgs

- 2. Jedah Mae G. Soriano Women's Full Contact Padded Point 50-55kgs
- 3. Ma. Ella B. Alcoseba Women's Full Contact Live Stick Competition under 50kgs
- 4. Dexler S. Bolambao Men's Full Contact Live Stick Competition 55-60kgs
- 5. Crisamuel T. Delfin Men's Individual Anyo Competition
- 6. Trixie Mary O. Lofranco Women's Individual Anyo Competition

Silver Medals

- 1. Jude Oliver Marie V. Rodriguez Women's Full Contact Live Stick Competition 50-55kgs
- 2. Mary Allin L. Aldeguer, Ma. Crystal Jane B. Sapio and Jeanette B. Agapito - Women's Team Anyo Competition

Bronze Medals

- 1. Ezekyl S. Habig Men's Full Contact Padded Point 55-60kgs
- 2. Noah Gonzales Men's Full Contact Padded Point 60-65kgs
- 3. Niño Mark E. Talledo Men's Full Contact Live Stick Competition 60-65kgs
- 4. Jeric M. Arce, Mark David P. Puzon and Mackjohn Niel G. Pineda Men's Team Anyo Competition;

WHEREAS, with this victory, the PNAT has shown to the Southeast Asian nations and the world the indomitable and persevering spirit of the Filipino;

WHEREAS, this display of excellence by our PNAT athletes have proven that with proper training and support, our athletes can emerge victorious against counterparts in the international sporting arena: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the Senate of the Philippines, To congratulate and commend the Philippine National Arnis Team and their coaching staff for winning six (6) gold medals, two (2) silver medals, and four (4) bronze medals at the 32nd

Southeast Asian Games held at Hall A, Chroy Changvar Convention Centre, Phnom Penh, Cambodia from 14 to 16 May 2023.

Adopted,

JUAN MIGUEL F. ZUBIRI
President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 31, 2023.

RENATO N. BANTUG Jr.

Secretary of the Senate

O