THE TOTAL

THIRTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES First Regular Session

'04 AUS 16 P3:26

SENATE	,
P.S. Res 45	

HECEIVED BY

Introduced by Senator Magsaysay, Jr.

RESOLUTION

EXPRESSING THE SENSE OF THE PHILIPPINE SENATE IN CONGRATULATING AND RECOGNIZING THE 2004 METROBANK FOUNDATION OUTSTANDING TEACHERS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES

Whereas, the teaching profession is considered the noblest profession of all;

Whereas, the 1987 Philippine Constitution recognizes the significance of teachers in society as it ensconced a tenet declaring, "[t]he State shall x x x ensure that teaching will attract and retain its rightful share of the best available talents through adequate remuneration and other means of job satisfaction and fulfillment" (Art. XIV, Sec. 5 [5]);

Whereas, the Filipino teachers of the recent years are multi-tasking and paragon of flexibility and intellectual prowess, they are the second parents of students guiding the latter achieve the success for the future, they are the hardworking personnel performing election duties, and they are performing myriad of duties in society from science and technology to community/civic works, in fact, a number of them are soldier-teachers deployed in the Buliok complex and some war-torn and insurgency infested areas in Muslim Mindanao;

Whereas, the teaching profession is one of the biggest professional groups in the country, as manifested by the following information from the Department of Education and Commission on Higher Education (2003-04):

	Public	Private
Elementary	338,944	32,183
High School	120,516	<i>37,883</i>
College (faculty)	34,865	64,078

Whereas, the Filipino teachers are classified as the most underpaid professionals but shining beacons/partners for nation-building;

Whereas, this year the Metrobank Foundation has selected an outstanding corps of women and men comprising the finest Filipino mentors and this year's recipient of the 2004 Outstanting Teachers Award, namely:

- 1. MRS. ANNABELLE S. CATIMBANG
 Iriga City Division Integrated Special School
- 2. MRS. MEILROSE B. PERALTA
 Kidapawan City Pilot Elementary School

- 3. MRS. LINA L. JALA
 Triple Union Elementary School
- 4. MRS. JOSEPHINE C. DELIGENTE Fernando Ma. Guerrero Elementary School
- 5. MR. ALLAN M. CANONIGO
 New Ormoc City National High School
- 6. MRS. GENERSOL G. MONTON Fort Bonifacio High School
- 7. MRS. MARIECON G. RAMIREZ Ilocos Norte National High School
- 8. MR. NOEL G. SOLIS

 Zamboanga del Norte National High School
- 9. DR. ANTONIO MIGUEL L. DANS University of the Philippines
- 10. DR. MANUEL B. DY, JR. Ateneo de Manila University

Whereas, recognition for their unselfish dedication, commitment to the youth, and honesty in public and private service must be accorded: Now therefore be it

Resolved, by the Senate of the Philippines, To express the sense of the Philippine Senate in congratulating and recognizing the 2004 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Teachers of the Republic of the Philippines.

Adopted,

RAMON B. MAGSA