Third Regular Session	SENATE	9	JUN 17 P	2 :46
	P.S. Res. No. <u>1136</u>	RECEIVED	er Ag	, Markin

Introduced by Senator Manuel "Lito" M. Lapid

## RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING POWERADE-TEAM PILIPINAS FOR WINNING THE 8TH SOUTHEAST ASIAN BASKETBALL ASSOCIATION (SEABA) MEN'S CHAMPIONSHIP AT THE ANGKASAPURA LANUD BASKETBALL HALL IN MEDAN, INDONESIA ON 6-9 JUNE 2009.

**WHEREAS**, the Philippine Senate has in several occasions paid tribute to outstanding Filipinos for their astonishing feat of bringing home pride and glory to the country by becoming champions in international sporting competitions;

WHEREAS, Powerade-Team Pilipinas made the country proud when it emerged as overall champion in the 8th Southeast Asian Basketball Association (SEABA) Men's Championship in Medan, Indonesia on 6-9 June 2009;

WHEREAS, the National Team was composed of Asi Taulava, Mick Pennisi, Jayjay Helterbrand, Ryan Reyes, James Yap, Kerby Raymundo, Cyrus Baguio, Willie Miller, Jared Dillinger, Arwind Santos, Ranidel de Ocampo and Gabe Norwood, with Sonny Thoss and Kelly Williams as alternates;

**WHEREAS,** by winning this international tournament, Powerade-Team Pilipinas has made our country proud and has shown to the world the spirit of Filipino competitiveness and excellence:

WHEREAS, this outstanding performance by our Filipino cagers deserves to be commended for the honor and recognition they have brought to our country.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, as it is hereby resolved by the Senate to congratulate and commend Powerade-Team Pilipinas for winning the 8th Southeast Asian Basketball Association (Seaba) Men's Championship at the Angkasapura Lanud Basketball Hall in Medan, Indonesia on 6-9 June 2009.

Adopted,

MANUEL "LITO" M. LAPID