FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC)		OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY	
OF THE PHILIPPINES Third Regular Session)	9	JUN 24 P2:31
SENATE			
P.S. Res. No. 142	1	'RECEIVED	BV . A
Introduced by Senator Ramon Bo	ong Rev	illa, Jr.	

RESOLUTION

COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING SIMON ANTHONY LORENZO, HANNAH CARIZE SANGALANG,ROWELL CASTRO, JEREEL ARON SAHAGUN, CARISSA MAY ENRIQUEZ AND KEVIN BRYAN JOSE FOR WINNING THE MAJOR AWARDS IN VARIOUS CATEGORIES IN THE 2009 INTERNATIONAL SUSTAINABLE WORLD ENERGY, ENGINEERING, AND ENVIRONMENT PROJECT (I-SWEEEP) OLYMPIAD IN HOUSTON, TEXAS, LAST APRIL15-20, 2009

Whereas, six senior students from Quezon City Science High School participated in three Senior categories namely: Engineering, Environment and Energy division;

Whereas, Simon Anthony Lorenzo and Hannah Carize Sangalang won a silver medal with their project entitled "Development of Carbon Nanomaterial as an Electrode Voltage Source" in the Senior Engineering category;

Whereas, Rowell Castro and Jereel Aron Sahagun bagged a silver medal with their project entitled "Preparation of Sn02 Nanomaterial Using Vacuum Evaporation Technique for Photocell Application" in the Senior Environment competition;

Whereas, Carissa May Enriquez and Kevin Bryan Jose received Honorable Mention award for their project "Development of an Organic Battery Using P-Toluene Polypyrrol as a Potential Electrode Voltage Source and Coconut (Cocos nucifera) Vinegar as Electrolyte" in the Senior Energy division;

Whereas, the Filipino kids presented their projects in front of an international jury at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston. They competed against the best projects form more than 60 countries around the world as well as all 50 states in the USA.

Whereas, I-SWEEP was organized by the Cosmos Foundation, a non-profit educational organization in Houston with a mission to establish college preparatory K-12 schools focusing on math, science, engineering, and computer technologies; and

Whereas, winning these awards is an achievement as much as a challenge that despite limited resources and constraints in facilities, the Filipino students, given the opportunity, will triumph in excellence.

Now, therefore, be it resolved, as it is hereby resolved by the Senate to commend and congratulate Simon Anthony Lorenzo, Hannah Carize Sangalang, Rowell Castro, Jereel Aron Sahagun, Carissa May Enriquez and Kevin Bryan Jose for winning the major awards in various categories in the 2009 International Sustainable World Energy, Engineering and Environment Project (I-SWEEEP) Olympiad in Houston, Texas, last April 15-20, 2009.

Adopted.

RAMON BOYG REVILLA, JR.