FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC )	(基本)
OF THE PHILIPPINES )	
Third Regular Session )	9 JUL 28 Pl 59
SENATE	
P.S. Res. Nol <u>234</u>	SEC VENTON A
Introduced by Senator Ramon Bong Revi	lla, Jr.

## RESOLUTION

COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING GERALDINE BANIQUED, ARIELLE ELISE CHUA, JOHN RUSSELL VIRATA, ZHENG RONG WU, ADRIAN RAPHAEL CO, MATTHEW CHRIS CHAN, OSTIN JOHN ONG, VANCE ELDRIC GO, ELVIS JEREMY AYROSO, JANSSEN KOTAH, HANZ VLADIMIR CABANES, PAOLO MANUEL IYULORES AND SARAH JANE CUA FOR WINNING THE MAJOR AWARDS IN VARIOUS CATEGORIES IN THE 10<sup>TH</sup> INVITATIONAL WORLD YOUTH MATHEMTICS INTER-CITIES COMPETITION (IWYMIC) IN DURBAN, SOUTH AFRICA LAST JULY 5-10, 2009

Whereas, thirteen Filipino high school math wizards reaped a total of 27 silver and bronze medals in the 10<sup>th</sup> Invitational World Youth Mathematics Inter-cities Competition;

Whereas, 10<sup>th</sup> IWYMIC was participated in by 228 high school students from 19 countries including Canada, China, Australia, Bulgaria, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, South Korea, Netherlands, Nigeria, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Zambia, Zimbabwe, South Africa and the Philippines;

Whereas, Philippine Team A posted a first runner-up finish in the team category competitions earning trophy and a silver medal each for its four members namely: Geraldine Baniqued, a senior at St. Paul College-Pasig, Arielle Elise Chua of St. Jude Catholic School-Manila, John Russell Virata of Gideon Academy, and Zheng Rong Wu of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School;

Whereas, Philippine Team B composed of Adrian Raphael Co of the British School Manila, Matthew Chris Chan of St. Stephen's High School, Ostin John Ong of the Bacolod Trinity Christian School and Vance Eldric Go of St. Jude Catholic School-Manila, landed a second runner-up trophy and a bronze medal each for its four members;

Whereas, Philippine Team C composed of Elvis Jeremy Ayroso of Philippine Science High School-Manila, Paolo Manuel Iyulores of Ateneo de Manila High School, Janssen Kotah of the Philippine Cultural College, and Hanz Vladimir Cabanes of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School also received bronze medals each;

Whereas, six of the thirteen Filipino math wizards namely: Baniqued, Virata, Wu, Chan, Go and Ayroso bagged a bronze medal each in the individual category competitions for registering high marks in that category, while Co, Ong, Iyulores and Chua got individual merit certificates; and

Whereas, the Philippine Senate has in several occasions paid tribute to exemplary Filipino students for their outstanding achievements in international competitions and in bringing home pride and honor to the country.

Now, therefore, be it resolved, as it is hereby resolved, by the Senate of the Philippines to commend and congratulate Geraldine Baniqued, Arielle Elise Chua, John Russell Virata, Zheng Rong Wu, Adrian Raphael Co, Matthew Chris Chan, Ostin John Ong, Vance Eldric Go, Elvis Jeremy Ayroso, Janssen Kotah, Hanz Vladimir Cabanes, Paolo Manuel Iyulores and Sarah Jane Cua for winning the major awards in various categories in the 10<sup>th</sup> Invitational World Youth Mathematics Inter-Cities Competition (IWYMIC) in Durban, South Africa last July 5-10, 2009.

Adopted,

RAMON BOXG REVILLA, JR.