

Introduced by Senator Richard J. Gordon

HECENED BY

18

AUG 11 P4:33

RESOLUTION

COMMENDING ROSALIND L. WEE, 2009 PEARL S. BUCK INTERNATIONAL WOMAN OF THE YEAR FOR HER HUMANITARIAN PURSUITS IN FAVOR OF WOMEN AND CHILDREN

WHEREAS, Rosalind L. Wee, the recipient of the 2009 Pearl S. Buck International Woman of the Year, was awarded this prestigious international recognition for her humanitarian dedication, accomplishments in improving the quality of life, and expanding opportunities for Filipino women and children;

WHEREAS, Wee is the president of the Pearl S. Buck Foundation-Philippines, Inc. and the Philippine Federation of Local Councils of Women, Inc., as well as the treasurer and director of the Philippine National Red Cross-Quezon City Chapter;

WHEREAS, Wee pursues her altruistic endeavors in favor of women and children with the Pearl S. Buck Foundation-Philippines with utmost commitment to health and education, and despite her visual impairment, she trudged Ormoc, Angeles City, Madapdap, Cebu and Olongapo to visit Amerasian and displaced kids;

WHEREAS, apart from Wee's humanitarian activities, she is an entrepreneur who is a living example of her advocacy of advancing the economic stability and independence of women through entrepreneurship; she was also a part of the 2005 Philippine delegation to the 49th United Nations Commission Conference on the Status of Women held in New York, further attesting to her unwavering dedication to uplift the dignity of women;

WHEREAS, the distinguished award named after Pearl S. Buck, the first woman to receive the Pulitzer and Nobel Prize for Literature, honors women who have broken barriers with professional achievements and a strong history of humanitarian pursuits, particularly related to women and children; among the past awardees are Hollywood actress and humanitarian Audrey Hepburn (1993), human rights activist Aung San Suu Kyi (1997), United States Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton (1999), and US First Lady Laura Bush (2006);

WHEREAS, Wee joins the ranks of two other Filipino women including the late President Corazon Aquino (1995) and Amelia J. Gordon (2002), former mayor and assemblywoman of Olongapo City; *Now, therefore, be it*

RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED by the Senate of the Philippines, to commend Rosalind L. Wee, recipient of the 2009 Pearl S. Buck International Woman of the Year award for her humanitarian pursuits in favor of women and children.

Adopted,

RICHARD J. GORDON