FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC) OF THE PHILIPPINES)

Third Regular Session

SENATE

P.S. Res. No. 1309

朝已的1011 D 10-

)

Introduced by Senator Manuel "Lito" M. Lapid

RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE AWARDEES FOR THE 2009 SEARCH FOR OUTSTANDING TEACHERS HONORED BY THE METROBANK FOUNDATION, INC.

WHEREAS, the Search for Outstanding Teachers is an annual search undertaken by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. in consonance with its commitment to promote a culture of excellence in education by recognizing the country's best mentors who can be upheld as models not only for educators but for other community members as well;

WHEREAS, the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. has been conducting the Search for Outstanding Teachers since 1985 in recognition of the profound commitment to the development of the youth through exemplary competence, remarkable dedication to their work and an effective educational leadership;

WHEREAS, the Search for Outstanding Teachers awardees were selected from 173 nominees coming from various public and private educational institutions in the Philippines, of which 40 qualified as regional finalists who underwent interviews and teaching demonstrations before the members of the preliminary board of judges identified for each category, 20 of whom were selected to become the national finalists then who faced the Final Board of Judges for this year's Search co-chaired by Supreme Court Associate Justice Teresita Leonardo-De Castro and Muntinlupa City Representative Rozzano Rufino B. Biazon;

WHEREAS, this year's winners will join the rank of 276 outstanding teachers who have been honored by the Foundation for the last 24 years and will automatically become members of the Network of Outstanding Teachers and Educators or NOTED, an honor society of outstanding teachers committed to nurturing a culture of excellence and service among educators through professional development, publications, research, and advocacy in active partnership with government and non-government organizations;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate proudly joins the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. in congratulating and commending the educators who have served as infrastructures for continuing excellence and provided greater impact on their respective spheres of influence through the 2009 Search for Outstanding Teachers;

RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, that the Philippine Senate congratulate and commend the 2009 Search for Outstanding Teachers Awardees honored by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc., namely:

/

À

知道2011月132

From the elementary level

- 1. Mrs. Lourdes L. Matan of Mag-Ubay Elementary School in Calbayog City
- Mrs. Gemma G. Cortez of Dasmariñas Elementary School in Dasmariñas, Cavite
- Mr. Benjamin M. Martinez of San Sebastian Elementary School in Tarlac City
- 4. Mrs. Eva B. Imingan of Nellie E. Brown Elementary School in Olongapo City

From the secondary level

- Ms. Shena Faith M. Ganela of Philippine Science High School-Western Visayas Campus in Iloilo City
- Mrs. Rochelle D. Papasin of Philippine Science High School-Southern Mindanao Campus in Davao City
- 7. Mrs. Ma. Petra A. Romualdo of Minapan High School in Tulunan, Cotabato
- Mr. Zoilo J. Pinongcos, Jr. of Leganes National High School in Leganes, Iloilo

From the higher education level

- 9. Dr. Dina Joana S. Ocampo of the University of the Philippines-Diliman
- 10. Dr. Ramon S. Del Fierro of University of San Carlos in Cebu City

Adopted,

"LITO" M. LA Senator