FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES *Third Regular Session* 

|        | 5     | · [. |
|--------|-------|------|
| OFFICE | 96 Tr | FCRE |

**NECEW:** O

9 ALG 25 PI 13

TARY

SENATE

P.S. Res. No. 1321

#### INTRODUCED BY SEN. MANNY VILLAR

#### RESOLUTION

## HONORING AND COMMENDING THE TEN (10) OUTSTANDING TEACHERS OF THE 2009 SEARCH OF THE METROBANK FOUNDATION, INC.

WHEREAS, next to our parents, the teachers have the most impact on our lives and they instill in us the values of right and wrong and have made profound difference in the paths that we have chosen;

WHEREAS, one of the greatest roles of a teacher is empowering the mind of the students and persuading them to aspire more than they think they are capable of attaining;

WHEREAS, we should recognize the essential role of teachers in educational advancement, their important contributions in the development of humanity and modern society and their rights as members of a highly-regarded profession;

WHEREAS, despite the difficult task of molding the youth, the teachers are given meager salaries and benefits which barely support themselves and their families and yet they are overworked. Moreover, the equipment and facilities that they need in order for them to teach properly and more effectively are inadequate;

WHEREAS, notwithstanding the constraints, the teachers should be honored considering their honesty, dedication and for being in the noblest profession;

**WHEREAS**, for the last twenty five (25) years, the Metrobank Foundation, Inc., consistent with its conviction to honor the teaching profession as a noble vocation, has been awarding teachers from all over the country through its Search for Outstanding Teachers as adjudged by a set of distinguished panel of judges with the selection of ten (10) winners each year;

WHEREAS, this year's winners consist of four (4) teachers in the elementary, four (4) in secondary and two (2) in the higher education levels;

WHEREAS, the following is the Roll of Honor for the 2009 Metrobank Foundation's Outstanding Teachers:

#### MRS. LOURDES L. MATAN

Mag-Ubay Elementary School, Calbayog City

#### MRS. GEMMA G. CORTEZ

Dasmariñas Elementary School, Dasmariñas, Cavite

MR. BENJAMIN M. MARTINEZ San Sebastian Elementary School, Tarlac City

# MRS. EVA B. IMINGAN

Nellie E. Brown Elementary School, Olongapo City

#### MS. SHENA FAITH M. GANELA

Philippine Science High School-Western Visayas Campus, Iloilo City

## MRS. ROCHELLE D. PAPASIN

Philippine Science High School-Southern Mindanao Campus, Davao City

#### MRS. MA. PETRA A. ROMUALDO

Minapan High School, Tulunan, North Cotabato

# MR. ZOILO J. PINONGCOS JR.

Leganes National High School, Leganes, Iloilo

#### DR. DINA JOANA S. OCAMPO

University of the Philippines, Diliman, Quezon City

## DR. RAMON S. DEL FIERRO

University of San Carlos, Cebu City

WHEREAS, the teachers are the beacons of unstinting dedication and commitment;

*NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED,* by the Senate of the Philippines, to honor and commend the abovementioned winners of the 2009 Metrobank Foundation Search for Outstanding Teachers for their laudable dedication to the teaching profession and their unwavering commitment in providing quality education in the country.

Adopted,

MANNY VIILLAR Senator