FIFTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES Second Regular Session

TIZ JAN 16 531 116

SENATE P.S. Res. No. **680**

· nv. Cr

Introduced by Senator Manuel "Lito" M. Lapid

RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE AWARDEES FOR THE OUTSTANDING FILIPINO (TOFIL) AWARDS 2012 HONORED BY THE JUNIOR CHAMBER INTERNATIONAL-SENATE PHILIPPINES AND THE INSULAR LIFE ASSURANCE CO., LTD.

WHEREAS, The Outstanding Filipino (TOFIL) Awards is an annual search jointly undertaken by the Junior Chamber International-Senate Philippines and the Insular Life Assurance Co., Ltd. since 1988;

WHEREAS, The Outstanding Filipino (TOFIL) Awards seeks to pay tribute to outstanding Filipino men and women aged 41 and over, who have made significant contributions to the advancement of their profession, public welfare and national development.

WHEREAS, the Junior Chamber International-Senate Philippines and the Insular Life Assurance Co., Ltd. recognized five outstanding Filipinos that will send a strong message to today's generation that there are still bright spots of hope and heroism in the nation, to wit: Dr. Jesus P. Estanislao for Governance, Mr. Jose T. Pardo for Business, Dr. Ramon M. Nery for Government/Public Service, Mrs. Sylvia D. Pendon for Entrepreneurship, and Dr. Emerlinda R. Roman for Education;

WHEREAS, the country's foremost authority on governance and former Economic Planning and Finance Secretary, Dr. Jesus P. Estanislao, was honored for his roles in carrying out successful fiscal reforms during the administration of the late President Corazon Aquino, in being the architect of the rehabilitation of government financial institutions, and in carrying out governance reforms in both the public and private sectors.

WHEREAS, Philippine Stock Exchange Chairman and former Trade and Industry Secretary Mr. Jose T. Pardo was cited for pioneering the franchising model in the country that continues to drive the economic engine. He was among those who advocated the idea of corporate social responsibility decades before it became a key part of business;

WHEREAS, Dr. Ramon M. Nery was awarded for his selfless and persistent work in the poorest provinces in Mindanao, where he initiated a host of reforms to improve the services of public hospitals and alleviate the ailing healthcare situation, and for his pioneering work in voluntary blood services program saving thousands of lives, which became a model for similar initiatives;

WHEREAS, Mrs. Sylvia D. Pendon, who broke new ground in the country's cottage industry by introducing Philippine handicrafts to the world and creating a lucrative export market, was given the award for trailblazing the organic food movement in Palawan and for empowering hundreds of women as a home economics teacher.

WHEREAS, professor of business administration and the University of the Philippines' first woman president, Dr. Emerlinda R. Roman, was recognized for being a model educator for more than 30 years. She ushered the country's National University into its second century with notable improvements in the areas of infrastructure, curriculum development, fiscal capability, and public service;

WHEREAS, this year's awardees will join a roster of 116 other exemplary Filipinos who were hailed Outstanding Filipinos for the last 24 years;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate proudly joins the Junior Chamber International-Senate Philippines and the Insular Life Assurance Co., Ltd. in congratulating and commending the admirable Filipinos who by their life work exemplify excellence and service to humanity through The Outstanding Filipino (TOFIL) Awards;

RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, that the Philippine Senate congratulate and commend The Outstanding Filipino (TOFIL) Awardees of 2012 honored by the Junior Chamber International-Senate Philippines and the Insular Life Assurance Co., Ltd., namely:

- 1. Dr. Jesus P. Estanislao for Governance
- 2. Mr. Jose T. Pardo for Business
- 3. Dr. Ramon M. Nery for Government/Public Service
- 4. Mrs. Sylvia D. Pendon for Entrepreneurship
- 5. Dr. Emerlinda R. Roman for Education

Adopted,

MANUEL "LITO" M. LAPID

Senator