

FIFTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES Third Regular Session

LEG. BILLS AND INDEX SERVICE

OCT 0 1 2012

SENATE

P.S. Res. No. **878**

Introduced by Senator Manuel "Lito" M. Lapid

RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE PHILIPPINES NATIONAL FOOTBALL TEAM OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE PHILIPPINE AZKALS FOR WINNING THE 2012 PHILIPPINE FOOTBALL PEACE CUP ON 25-29 SEPTEMBER 2012 AT THE RIZAL MEMORIAL STADIUM IN MANILA, THE PHILIPPINES.

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate has in several occasions paid tribute to exemplary Filipinos for their contribution in bringing pride and honor to the country by winning in international competitions;

WHEREAS, the Philippines National Football Team more popularly known as the Philippine Azkals won in convincing fashion the Philippine Football Peace Cup with a lopsided 3-1 score in its finals match against Chinese Taipei on September 29, 2012;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Azkals never dropped a game in this fournation international football competition commemorating National Peace Month as they crushed the teams of Guam and Macau in the preliminary round;

WHEREAS, the Philippines had never won an international football tournament in 99 years, the last was when the national booters were declared champions in the 1913 Far Eastern Games;

WHEREAS, players of the Philippine Azkals had their share of glory as they reap individual awards with Denis Wolf collecting the Most Valuable Player and the Golden Boot Award after scoring four (4) goals in the tournament, Eduardo Sacapano as Best Goalkeeper, Jeffrey Christiaens as Best Defender, and Matthew Uy as Best Midfielder;

WHEREAS, this recent win of the Philippine Azkals kept the prospects of Philippine football brighter and further opens opportunities for the nation's emergence as a football powerhouse in Asia and the world;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, as it is hereby resolved, to congratulate and commend the Philippines Philippines National Football Team otherwise known as the Philippine Azkals for winning the 2012 Philippine Football Peace Cup on 25-29 September 2012 at the Rizal Memorial Stadium in Manila, The Philippines, namely:

Goalkeepers

Eduardo Sacapano Ref Cuaresma

Defenders

Roel Gener
David Basa
Matthew Uy
Demitrius Omphroy
Jason Sabio
Carli de Murga
Jeffrey Christiaens

Midfielders

Emelio Caligdong Nestorio Margarse Patrick Reichelt Jason De jong OJ Porteria Misagh Bahadoran Marvin Angeles Marwin Angeles Anton Gonzalez

Forwards |

Denis Wolf Ian Araneta

Adopted,

MANUEL "LITO" M. LAPID Senator