OF THE PHILIPPINES,

Third Regular Session

SENATE

P.S. Res. No. <u>317</u>

Introduced by Senator Manuel "Lito" M. Lapid

RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING FILIPINO ACTOR EDUARDO VERCHEZ GARCÍA OTHERWISE KNOWN AS EDDIE GARCIA FOR WINNING THE BEST ACTOR AWARD IN THE 55TH ASIA-PACIFIC FILM FESTIVAL AT THE VENETIAN MACAO-RESORT-HOTEL IN THE MACAU SPECIAL ADMINISTRATIVE REGION OF THE PEOPLE'S REPUBLIC OF CHINA ON 15 DECEMBER 2012.

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate has in several occasions paid tribute to outstanding Filipinos for their astonishing feat of bringing home pride and glory to the country by reaping awards in international events and competitions;

WHEREAS, Filipino actor and director Eddie Garcia made the country proud when he won the Best Actor award during the 55th Asia-Pacific Film Festival at The Venetian Macao-Resort-Hotel in the Macau Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China on 15 December 2012 for the film Bwakaw besting finalists from the Asia-Pacific region;

WHEREAS, the Asia-Pacific Film Festival is the region's most reputable award-giving body for film, having seen the many pivotal points and breakthroughs of the Asian motion picture industry;

WHEREAS, the award was the first international recognition garnered by the decorated actor who, at age 83, is regarded as one of the legendary talents and precious gems of the Filipino film industry:

WHEREAS, by winning in this international acting award, Filipino screen legend and veteran actor Eddie Garcia has made our country proud and has shown the world the excellence of Filipino talent;

WHEREAS, this achievement by our Filipino actor deserves to be commended for the honor and recognition he has brought to our country.

NOW. THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, as it is hereby resolved by the Senate to congratulate and commend Filipino actor Eduardo Verchez García otherwise known as Eddie Garcia for winning the Best Actor award in the 55th Asia-Pacific Film Festival at The Venetian Macao-Resort-Hotel in the Macau Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China on 15 December 2012.

Adopted.

