Senute Hilliam of the Secretary

Third Regular Session

15 AUG -4 P3:02

SENATE

P.S. Res. No. <u>1466</u>

)

RECEIVED BY:

Introduced by Senator Manuel "Lito" M. Lapid

RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE AWARDEES FOR THE 2015 SEARCH FOR OUTSTANDING TEACHERS HONORED BY THE METROBANK FOUNDATION, INC.

WHEREAS, the Search for Outstanding Teachers is an annual search undertaken by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. in consonance with its commitment to promote a culture of excellence in education by recognizing the country's best mentors who can be upheld as models not only for educators but for other community members as well;

WHEREAS, the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. has been conducting the Search for Outstanding Teachers since 1985 in recognition of the profound commitment to the development of the youth through exemplary competence, remarkable dedication to their work and an effective educational leadership;

WHEREAS, the Search for Outstanding Teachers awardees were selected from 467 nominees coming from various public and private educational institutions in the country, of which 110 qualified as provincial finalists, which was narrowed down to 40 regional finalists who underwent interviews and teaching demonstrations before the members of the preliminary board of judges identified for each category, 20 of whom were selected to become the national finalists then who faced the Final Board of Judges for this year's Search chaired by House Deputy Speaker and Antipolo City First District Representative Roberto V. Puno and co-chaired by Chairman Teresita J. Herbosa of the Securities and Exchange Commission with Taguig City Mayor Ma. Laarni L. Cayetano, Far Eastern University president Dr. Michael M. Alba, Don Bosco Technical College rector Fr. Vitaliano "Chito" S. Dimaranan, SDB, Philippine Stock Exchange president and chief executive officer Hans B. Sicat, and Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas chair Ruperto S. Nicdao Jr. as members of the Board of Judges;

WHEREAS, this year's winners will join the rank of outstanding teachers who have been honored by the Foundation for the last 30 years and will automatically become members of the Network of Outstanding Teachers and Educators or NOTED, an honor society of outstanding teachers committed to nurturing a culture of excellence and service among educators through professional development, publications, research, and advocacy in active partnership with government and non-government organizations;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate proudly joins the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. in congratulating and commending the educators who have served as infrastructures for continuing excellence and provided greater impact on their respective spheres of influence through the 2015 Search for Outstanding Teachers;

RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, that the Philippine Senate congratulate and commend the 2015 Search for Outstanding Teachers Awardees honored by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc., namely:

From the elementary level

- 1. Rejie F. Palmos of West Visayas State University in La Paz, Iloilo City
- 2. **Benjamin M. Castro** of Francisco Benitez Elementary School in Tondo, Manila
- 3. Amcy M. Esteban of Legarda Elementary School in Sampaloc, Manila
- 4. Irene G. de la Cruz of Carmona Elementary School in Carmona, Cavite

From the secondary level

- 5. Ronaldo C. Reyes of Tobaco National High School in Tobaco City, Albay
- 6. **Myrna B. Libutaque** of Philippine Science High School-Western Visayas campus in Jaro, Iloilo City
- 7. Milagros C. Banan of Ernesto Rondon High School in Quezon City
- 8. Ernani S. Fernandez Jr. of Palo National High School in Palo, Leyte

From the higher education level

- 9. Thomas Edison E. de la Cruz of the University of Santo Tomas
- 10. Analyn Salvador-Amores of the University of the Philippines Baguio

Adopted,

MANUEL "LITO" M. LAPID