

SIXTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE) REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES) Third Regular Session

SENATE

P.S. RES. NO. 1545

RECEIVED BY: Y

15 AUG 26 P4:02

Introduced by Senator Pia S. Cayetano

A RESOLUTION

HONORING AND COMMENDING THE TEN OUTSTANDING TEACHERS OF 2015 AWARDED BY THE METROBANK FOUNDATION, INC.

WHEREAS, teachers undertake an important role in empowering the minds of our children, not only by honing their skills and training them to think critically, but also in shaping their character and instilling in them good moral values and civic responsibility;

WHEREAS, teachers have a significant impact on the lives of their students, helping them realize their full potential and guiding them towards a life of both success and meaning;

WHEREAS, this noble calling demands from teachers the utmost responsibility, patience, hard work, and commitment;

WHEREAS, despite the difficulties faced by our teachers, they remain reliable and steadfast in the performance of their duties;

WHEREAS, for the last thirty-one (31) years since 1984, the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. has honored 336 outstanding teachers of the Philippines as shining examples of unflinching dedication and commitment to the teaching profession, and as such, the pride and joy not only of their respective schools and communities, but also of the nation as well;

WHEREAS, the Roll of Honor for the 2015 Search for Outstanding Teachers consists of four (4) teachers in elementary, four (4) in secondary, and two (2) in the higher education levels:

Elementary:

REJIE F. PALMOS

Associate Professor 5 West Visayas State University Iloilo City

BENJAMIN M. CASTRO

Master Teacher II Francisco Benitez Elementary School City of Manila

AMCY M. ESTEBAN

Master Teacher II Legarda Elementary School City of Manila

IRENE G. DELA CRUZ

Master Teacher I Carmona Elementary School Carmona, Cavite

Secondary:

<u>م</u>

RONALDO C. REYES

Master Teacher I Tabaco National High School Tabaco City

MYRNA B. LIBUTAQUE, Ph.D.

Special Science Teacher IV Philippine Science High School – Western Visayas Campus Iloilo City

MILAGROS C. BANAN

Master Teacher I Ernesto Rondon High School Quezon City

ERNANI S. FERNANDEZ, JR.

Teacher III Palo National High School Palo, Leyte

Higher Education:

THOMAS EDISON E. DELA CRUZ, Ph.D.

Professor 1 University of Santo Tamos City of Manila

ANALYN V. SALVADOR-AMORES, Ph.D.

Associate Professor University of the Philippines-Baguio Baguio City

WHEREAS, it is indeed befitting to recognize their perseverance, discipline, and upstanding moral character, as they truly deserve to be acknowledged as excellent role models for our youth;

WHEREAS, this award is not only a tribute to our exemplary educators who promote and exemplify a culture of excellence, but also a source of encouragement for other teachers to follow their stead, and a persistent reminder that the work they do is appreciated beyond measure;

WHEREAS, more outstanding teachers of this caliber will significantly contribute to an emerging generation of capable, responsible, and conscientious youth;

WHEREAS, we aspire to boost the country's quality of education by giving importance to our teachers, and motivating and rewarding them for their hard work;

ı

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, as it is hereby resolved by the Philippine Senate to honor and commend the Ten Outstanding Teachers of 2015 chosen by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc.

Adopted.

PIA S. CAYET **NO**