SIXTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC) OF THE PHILIPPINES) Third Regular Session)

(Thomas Bill

SENATE

P.S. Res. No. 1666

15 NOV 11 P4:03

Introduced by Senator Manuel "Lito" M. Lapid RECEIVED BY:_____

RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING NANCY C. CARVAJAL, HORACIO "HOWIE G. SEVERINO, AND MARIA TERESA "MARITES" D. VITUG FOR BEING NAMED THE 2015 JOURNALISTS OF THE YEAR (JOY) AWARDED BY THE METROBANK FOUNDATION, INC. AND PROBE MEDIA FOUNDATION, INC. (PMFI)

WHEREAS, the Journalists of the Year (JOY) is a search undertaken by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. and Probe Media Foundation, Inc. (PMFI) to recognize outstanding journalists whose work not only inspired and influenced their audience, but sparked social change and contributed to nation building;

WHEREAS, the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. recognized its first set of Journalists of the Year in 2013 with Jarius Bondoc, Malou Mangahas and Jiggy Manicad as awardees, whose work inspired significant changes in their respective fields of journalism;

WHEREAS, nominees for Journalists of the Year went through a rigorous screening process culminating in an interview by the Final Board of Judges headed by Ombudsman Conchita Carpio- Morales with Commission on Elections chairperson Andres D. Bautista, Commission on Higher Education chairperson Dr. Patricia B. Licuanan, Ateneo de Manila University president Father Jose Ramon T. Villarin, SJ, and Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation president Carmencita T. Abella;

WHEREAS, the 2015 Journalists of the Year award is given to: Maria Teresa "Marites" D. Vitug, editor-at-large of Rappler; Horacio "Howie" G. Severino, news anchor and Vice President for Professional Development of GMA Network, Inc.; and Nancy C. Carvajal, senior reporter of The Philippine Daily Inquirer;

WHEREAS, the Senate of the Philippines proudly joins the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. and Probe Media Foundation, Inc. in congratulating and commending Nancy C. Carvajal, Horacio "Howie" G. Severino, and Maria Teresa "Marites" D. Vitug who themselves are institutions deserving of the recognition as Journalists of the Year;

RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, that the Senate of the Philippines congratulate and commend Nancy C. Carvajal, Horacio "Howie" G. Severino, and Maria Teresa "Marites" D. Vitug for being named the 2015 Journalists Of The Year (JOY) awarded by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. and Probe Media Foundation, Inc. (PMFI)

Adopted,

MANUEL "LITO" M. LAPID

C