

16 AUG -2 P1:58

SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE }
REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES }
First Regular Session }

RECEEV SRY:

SENATE P. S. Resolution No.

71

## Introduced by SEN. VICENTE C. SOTTO III

## RESOLUTION

COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING MIGHTY SPORTS PHILIPPINES FOR TOPPING THE 38<sup>TH</sup> JONES CUP IN AN EIGHT-GAME SWEEP HELD FROM JULY 23-31, 2016 IN TAIPEI, TAIWAN

**WHEREAS**, the R. William Jones Cup, also known as the Jones Cup, is an international basketball tournament held annually since 1977 in Taipei, Taiwan. It was named in honor of basketball promoter Renato William Jones, who was one of the founders of the International Basketball Federation (FIBA):

**WHEREAS,** the 2016 Jones Cup was participated by ten (10) teams from nine (9) countries, namely: Canada, Egypt, Iran, India, Japan, Korea, Taiwan, United States of America and the Philippines;

**WHEREAS,** the Philippines was represented by the Mighty Sports Apparel Team, called Mighty Sports Philippines, comprising of 14 players, led by its team captain Edrick Ferrer and Bo Perasol as their head coach;

**WHEREAS,** the Philippine squad finished the tournament with an 8-0 record and secured the title even before its final outing;

**WHEREAS,** since the Jones Cup started, the Philippines got four (4) championships – in 1981 by Northern Cement, 1985 by San Miguel Beer, 2012 by the Philippine Centennial team and 2016 by the Mighty Sports Philippines;

**WHEREAS**, by reason of the foregoing championships, the Philippines placed second behind the United States in the all-time Jones Cup medal ladder with five (5) gold, one (1) silver and three (3) bronze medals reaped;

**NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, as it is hereby resolved, to commend and congratulate the Mighty Sports Philippines Team for topping the 38<sup>th</sup> Jones Cup in an eight-game sweep held from July 23-31, 2016 in Taipei, Taiwan bringing another recognition to the Philippines in the field of basketball.

Adopted,

VICENTE C. SOTTO III

Senator