SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES First Regular Session

> SENATE Senate Bill No. **1368**

3

17 MAR -7 P4:17

RECEIVED BY

erretary

Introduced by SENATOR LACSON

AN ACT

REAPPORTIONING THE LONE LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT AND THE SANGGUNIANG PANLUNGSOD OF THE CITY OF ILOILO

EXPLANATORY NOTE

Data from the Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA) indicate the following trend in the population of Iloilo City as follows: 209,700 (1970 census); 244,800 (1980 census); 309,500 (1990 census); 366,400 (2000 census); 424,600 (2010 census);¹ and 447,992 (2015 census).² According to the PSA, the population of Iloilo City would double in 47 years if its average annual Population Growth Rate (PGR) of 1.49% during the period of 2000 to 2010 continues. Since 1987 when Iloilo City was provided its own congressional district, the City has remained a lone legislative district until now.

Pertinent provisions of Article VI of the 1987 Constitution state:

Sec. 5 (3). "Each legislative district shall comprise, as far as practicable, contiguous, compact, and adjacent territory. Each city with a population of at least two hundred fifty thousand, or each province, shall have at least one representative."

Sec. 5 (4). "Within three years following the return of every census, the Congress shall make a reapportionment of legislative districts based on the standards provided in this section."

While referring to the case of *Mariano v. COMELEC*³, the Supreme Court held in the case of *Aquino v. COMELEC*⁴ that "while Sec. 5 (3), Article VI of the Constitution requires a city to have a minimum population of 250,000 to be entitled to a representative, it does not have to increase its population by another 250,000 to be entitled to and additional district."

Consistent with the above-mentioned cases and in consonance with the Constitutional principle of proper democratic representation, this legislative

³ Mariano, Jr. v. COMELEC, G.R. No. 118577 (March 7, 1995)

¹ https://psa.gov.ph/content/population-iloilo-city-rose-425-thousand-results-2010-census-population-and-housing11

² https://www.citypopulation.de/php/philippines-visayas-admin.php?adm2id=063022

⁴ Aquino v. COMELEC, G.R. No. 189793 (April 7, 2010)

measure seeks to reapportion the lone legislative district of Iloilo city into two (2) separate legislative districts, namely: (a) First Legislative District to be composed of Jaro, Lapaz and Mandurriao; and (b) the Second Legislative District to be composed of City Proper, Molo, Arevalo and Lapuz.

In light of the foregoing, the immediate passage of this bill is earnestly sought.

PANFILO M. LACSON Senator



SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES First Regular Session

'17 MAR -7 P4:17

SENATE Senate Bill No. **1368**

}

}

RECEIVED BY:

Introduced by SENATOR LACSON

AN ACT

REAPPORTIONING THE LONE LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT AND THE SANGGUNIANG PANLUNGSOD OF THE CITY OF ILOILO

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

1 SECTION 1. Legislative Districts. - The City of Iloilo shall have two (2) legislative districts to commence in the next national elections after 2 the effectivity of this Act. Henceforth, all barangays comprising the city 3 districts of Jaro, namely, the forty-two barangays of: Arguelles, Balabago, 4 Balantang, Benedicto, Bito-On, Buhang, Buntatala, Calubihan, Cabalig, CC 5 El 98, Caurtero, Cubay, Demogracia, Desamparados, Dungon-A, Dungon-B, 6 Fajardo, Fatima, Javellana, Lanit, Lopez Jaena, Luna, Lady of Lourdes, 7 Maria Cristina, M.H. Del Pilar, Montinola, M.V. Hechanova, Sambag, San 8 Isidro, San Jose, San Pedro, San Vicente, San Roque, Seminario, Simon 9 Ledesma, Sta. Isabel-Libertad, Tabuc Suba, Tacas, Tagbac, Taytay Zone II, 10 Quintin Salas, and Ungka; Lapaz, comprising of the twenty-five barangays 11 12 of: Aguinaldo, Divinagracia, Rizal, Jereos, Burgos, Gustilo, Hinactacan, Banuyao, San Isidro, Ticud, Ingore, Caingin, Magdalo, Macarthur, San 13 Nicolas, Railway, Tabuc Suba, Baldoza, Nabitasan, Bantud, Luna, 14 Magsaysay Village, Lopez Jaena Sur, Lopez Jaena Norte, and Laguda; and 15 Mandurriao, composed of the following eighteen barangays: Airport, 16 Bakhaw, Bolilao, Calahunan, Dungon C, Guzman, Hibao-An Norte, Hibao-17 An Sur, Nava-is, Onate De Leon, Pali, PHHC Block 17, PHHC Block 22 18 NHA, Q. Abeto, San Rafael, Sta. Rosa, Tabucan, and Taft North, shall 19 compose the first district while all barangays comprising City Proper, 20 comprising of the forty-five barangays of: Arsenal Aduana, Baybay Tanza, 21 Bonifacio Tanza, Concepcion-Montes, Danao, Ed Ganzon, Flores, General 22 Hughes-Montes, Gloria, Hipodromo, Inday, Jalandoni-Bagumbayan, 23 Jalandoni Wilson, Kahirupan, Kauswagan, Legaspi Dela Rama, Liberation, 24 Magsaysay, Mabolo Delgado, Malipayon-Delgado, Maria Clara, Monica 25 Blumentritt, Muelle Loney-Montes, Nonoy, Ortiz, Pres. Roxas, Osmeña, 26 Rima Rizal, Rizal Estanzuela, Rizal Ibarra, Rizal Palapala I, Rizal Palapala 27

1

II, Roxas Village, Sampaguita, San Agustin, San Felix, San Jose, Santo 1 2 Rosario-Duran, Tanza-Esperanza, Timawa Tanza I, Timawa Tanza II, Veterans Village, Villa Anita, Yulo-Arroyo, and Zamora-Melliza; Molo, 3 4 inclusive of the twenty-five barangays of: Avanceña, Boulevard, 5 Calumpang, Cochero, Compania Central, East Baluarte, East Timawa, Infante, Kasing-Kasing, Katinglingban, North Baluarte, North Fundidor, 6 7 North San Jose, Poblacion, Salvacion Habog-Habog, San Antonio, San Juan, San Pedro, South Baluarte, South Fundidor, South San Jose, Taal, Tap-oc, 8 9 West Habog-Habog, and West Timawa; Arevalo, composed of the thirteen barangays of: Bonifacio, Calapran, Dulonan, Mohon, Quezon, San Jose, 10 11 Santa Felomina, Sooc, Santa Cruz, Santo Domingo, Santo Nino Norte, Santo 12 Nino Sur, and Yulo Drive; and Lapuz, inclusive of the following twelve 13 barangays: Lapuz Norte, Loboc, Lapuz Sur, Progreso, Mansava, Libertad, 14 Jalandoni Estate, Bo. Obrero, Sinikway, Don Esteban, Punong, and 15 Alalasan; shall compose the second district.

16 SECTION 2. The Sangguniang Panlungsod. - The Sangguniang 17 Panlungsod, the legislative body of the City, shall be composed of the city 18 vice mayor as the presiding officer, the sangguniang panlungsod members 19 from each district, composing of seven (7) members per district, who shall be elected in the district where they reside, the president of the city chapter 20 21 of the liga ng mga barangay, the president of the panlungsod na pederasyon 22 ng mga sangguniang kabataan and other sectoral representatives, as 23 members.

SECTION 3. Incumbent Representative and Sangguniang Panlungsod Members. – The incumbent representative and sangguniang panlungsod members of the City of Iloilo shall continue to hold office until the new representatives and sangguniang panlungsod members of the City shall have been elected and qualified.

SECTION 4. *Rules and Regulations*. – The Commission on Elections
shall issue the necessary rules and regulations to implement this Act.

31 SECTION 5. *Separability Clause*. If any provision or part hereof is 32 held invalid or unconstitutional, the remainder of the law or the provision 33 not otherwise affected shall remain valid and subsisting.

34 SECTION 6. *Repealing Clause.* – The provisions of Commonwealth 35 Act No. 57, as amended by Commonwealth Act Nos. 158 and 604, Republic 36 Act Nos. 276 and 1209 and all other laws, rules and regulations inconsistent 37 with this Act are hereby repealed, amended or modified accordingly. SECTION 7. *Effectivity.* – This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days
after publication in the Official Gazette or in two (2) national newspapers of
general circulation.

4 Approved,