



SENATE

S. No. <u>2214</u>

(In substitution of S.B. No. 2019 and S.B. No. 2025)

Prepared and submitted by the Committee on Local Government with Senators Pimentel, Gordon and Tolentino as authors thereof

AN ACT

RESETTING THE FIRST REGULAR ELECTIONS IN THE BANGSAMORO AUTONOMOUS REGION IN MUSLIM MINDANAO, AMENDING, FOR THE PURPOSE, SECTION 13, ARTICLE XVI OF REPUBLIC ACT NO. 11054, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE "ORGANIC LAW FOR THE BANGSAMORO AUTONOMOUS REGION IN MUSLIM MINDANAO"

Be it enacted by the Senate and the House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

Section 1. Section 13, Article XVI of Republic Act No. 11054, otherwise known
 as "Organic Law for the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao" is
 hereby amended to read as follows:

Section 13. First Regular Election. - The first regular election for the
Bangsamoro Government under this Organic Law shall be held and
synchronized with the [2022] 2025 national elections. The Commission on
Elections, through the Bangsamoro Electoral Office, shall promulgate rules and
regulations for the conduct of the elections, enforce and administer them
pursuant to national laws, this Organic Law and the Bangsamoro Electoral
Code."

Sec. 2. During the extension of the transition period, the Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA) shall continue as the interim government in the Bangsamoro

1

1 Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM); Provided, That the BTA shall prioritize its mandated duties under Section 4(a), Article XVI of R.A. No. 11054; 2 Provided, further, That the President shall appoint the eighty (80) new interim 3 4 members of the BTA, which shall be composed of the following: (a) Forty-seven (47) members nominated by the Moro Islamic Liberation Front, from whom the Chief 5 Minister will be appointed; (b) Four (4) members nominated by each of the six (6) 6 BARMM provincial local government units through their respective Sanggunians: 7 Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sultan Kudarat, Tawi-tawi, and Sulu, (c) One 8 (1) member each nominated by the following local government units: the BARMM 9 barangays in North Cotabato, Marawi City, and Cotabato City; and (d) Six (6) 10 members nominated by non-Moro indigenous peoples, such as Teduray, Lambangian, 11 12 Dulangan Manobo, B'laan, and Higaonon; Provided, finally, That all appointed interim BTA officers shall hold office until the duly elected officials in the May 2025 elections 13 14 shall have qualified and assumed office.

15 Sec. 3. Notwithstanding Section 3, Article VI of R.A. No. 11054, a Joint 16 Congressional Oversight Committee is hereby created to aid the BTA in the 17 performance of its functions and priorities.

18 Sec. 4. If any of the provisions of this Act is held unconstitutional, provisions 19 not affected shall remain valid and binding.

20 Sec. 5. All Laws, decrees, and all other issuances or parts thereof, which are 21 inconsistent with this Act, are hereby repealed, amended, or modified accordingly.

Sec. 6. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its complete publication
in the Official Gazette or in at least one (1) newspaper of general circulation.

Approved,

2