EIGHTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC } **OF THE PHILIPPINES** } Third Regular Session

DA TE 8:32 a.m F.Y 611

SENATE P.S. Res. No. 850

}

Introduced by Senators PANFILO M. LACSON, PIA S. CAYETANO, MARIA LOURDES NANCY S. BINAY, CHRISTOPHER LAWRENCE T. GO, MANUEL M. LAPID, RALPH G. RECTO, SHERWIN T. GATCHALIAN, AQUILINO PIMENTEL III, IMEE R. MARCOS, JOEL VILLANUEVA, JUAN EDGARDO ANGARA and CYNTHIA A. VILLAR

RESOLUTION

COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING CAVITE 8TH DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE ABRAHAM **"BAMBOL"** TOLENTINO IN HIS CAPACITY AS PRESIDENT OF THE PHILIPPINE OLYMPIC COMMITTEE (POC) FOR HIS EXEMPLARY LEADERSHIP AND UNWAVERING SUPPORT TO OUR ATHLETES IN THE TOKYO 2020 SUMMER OLYMPICS

WHEREAS, Article XIV, Section 19 (1) of the 1987 Constitution mandates the State to encourage sports programs, league competitions, and amateur sports, including training for international competitions, to foster self-discipline, teamwork, and excellence for the development of a healthy and alert citizenry;

WHEREAS, the Filipino people are always united when it comes to sports and athletics, rallying behind our athletes in their common goals and aspirations to bring victory and pride to our country;

WHEREAS, the Olympic Games, held both in the summer and winter, is a celebrated quadrennial international multi-sport event with the ultimate purpose of cultivating people and world peace through sports;¹

WHEREAS, the Philippine Olympic Committee (POC), a private, nongovernmental organization in the Philippines which serves as the mother organization of all National Sports Associations (NSAs) in the Philippines, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as having the sole authority for representation

¹ https://olympics.com/tokyo-2020/en/games/olympic-games-about/

of the Philippines in the Olympic Games, the Asian Games, the Southeast Asian Games and other multi-event competitions.

WHEREAS, Rep. Abraham "Bambol" Tolentino was elected President of the POC on 28 July 2019, taking over the remaining term of then President Ricky Vargas who tendered his irrevocable resignation. He was thereafter given a fresh full term of four years when he was reelected as POC President on 27 November 2020;

WHEREAS, upon his re-election, Rep. Tolentino focused on three major developments for 2021, one of which being to win the Philippines' first Olympic gold medal in the Tokyo Olympics;²

WHEREAS, despite the challenges brought about by the novel coronavirus, Rep. Tolentino showed his resilient leadership and profound care for the welfare of our athletes by pushing for the appropriation of funds in the 2021 national budget to bolster the training of our national athletes;

WHEREAS, in his capacity as a legislator, he likewise introduced a P180million allocation in the Bayanihan to Recover as One Act to benefit the athletes and coaches belonging to the national team, which include allowances and a one-time P5,000 pandemic assistance;³

WHEREAS, since the Philippines' first appearance in the Olympics in 1924, it is only now in the Tokyo 2020 Olympics under the guidance and leadership of Rep. Tolentino that our athletes were able to bring home our first Olympic gold medal together with two silver medals and one bronze medal, thus becoming the most successful Philippine delegation in the history of the Olympic games;

WHEREAS, with the largest Olympic medal haul in almost a century, the Philippines is also the best-performing country in Southeast Asia in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics ending Thailand's four-peat Olympic reign in the region;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE, to commend and congratulate Cavite 8th District Representative Abraham "Bambol" Tolentino as President of the Philippine Olympic Committee for his exemplary leadership and his unwavering support to our athletes in the Tokyo 2020 Summer Olympics.

² https://www.espn.com/story/_/id/30654679/tolentino-outlines-poc-three-major-goals-2021

³ https://mb.com.ph/2021/03/19/bambol-tolentino-recipient-of-presidents-award/

Adopted,

Panfilo M. Lacson Senator

Pia S. Camptons Pia S. Cayerino

Senator

Maria Lourdes Nancy S. Binay

Senator

MARUEL " LITO" M. LAPID Senator

Christopher Lawrence T. Go Senator

Ralph G. Recto

Senator

lchalian

Sherwin[#]Win" T. Gatchalian Senator

Free h. Marca

Imce R. Marcos Senator

Aquilino Koko" Pimentel III Senator

SEN. JOF/VILLANUEVA

Juan Eagardo "Sonny" Angara

Senator

•

.

.

- Nu Cynthia A. Villar

Cymthia A. Villai Senator