EIGHTEENTH	CONGRESS OF THE
REPUBLIC OF	THE PHILIPPINES
Third Regular	Session

722 MN 76 P3 22

SENATE



COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 539

Submitted by the Committee on Local Government on JAN 2 6 2022

Re: House Bill No. 9452

Recommending the approval of House Bill No. 9452 with amendments

Sponsor: Senator Francis "Tol" N. Tolentino

MR. PRESIDENT:

The Committee on Local Government, to which was referred **House Bill No. 9452**, introduced by Representative Pantaleon D. Alvarez, entitled:

"AN ACT

RENAMING THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAN ISIDRO, PROVINCE OF DAVAO DEL NORTE AS THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAWATA"

has considered the same and has the honor to report it back to the Senate with the recommendation that House Bill No. 9452, be approved with the following amendments:

1) On page 1, after line 2, insert a new Section 2, to read thus:

- "SEC. 2. THE PRESENT BARANGAY SAWATA REFERRED TO IN REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9265, ENTITLED "AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAN ISIDRO IN THE PROVINCE OF DAVAO DEL NORTE," IS HEREBY RENAMED AS BARANGAY POBLACION."
- 2) Still on page 1, lines 3 to 10, delete entire Sec. 2 and replace with a new Section 3, to read thus:

"SEC. 3. THE CHANGE OF NAME OF THE SUBJECT MUNICIPALITY AND BARANGAY SHALL BE EFFECTIVE UPON RATIFICATION BY THE MAJORITY OF THE VOTES CAST BY QUALIFIED VOTERS IN SEPARATE PLEBISCITES TO BE CONDUCTED AND SUPERVISED BY THE COMMISSION ON ELECTIONS (COMELEC) IN THE PRESENT (1) MUNICIPALITY OF SAN ISIDRO, PROVINCE OF DAVAO DEL NORTE; AND (2) BARANGAY SAWATA, MUNICIPALITY OF SAN ISIDRO, PROVINCE OF DAVAO DEL NORTE."

THE EXPENSES FOR BOTH PLEBISCITES SHALL BE BORNE BY THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAN ISIDRO, PROVINCE OF DAVAO DEL NORTE."

- 3) To renumber the Sections accordingly; and
- 4) Finally, to change the title of the Bill, to read thus:

"AN ACT

RENAMING THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAN ISIDRO, PROVINCE OF DAVAO DEL NORTE AS THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAWATA AND ITS BARANGAY SAWATA AS BARANGAY POBLACION, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9265, ENTITLED 'AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAN ISIDRO IN THE PROVINCE OF DAVAO DEL NORTE"

Respectfully submitted:

Chairperson

SEN. FRANCIS "TOL" N. TOLENTING

Vice-Chairperson

SEN. IMEE R. MARCOS

Members

SEN. CHRISTOP/HER BONG GO

SEN. RONALD "BATO "DELA ROSA

SEN WIN GATCHALTAN

SEN, RAMON BONG REVILLA, JR.

SEN. CYNTHIA A. VILLAR

SEN. MARTA LOURDEN NANCY S. BINAY

SEN. JOE VILLANUEVA

SEN. PANFILO M. LACSON

SEN. FRANCIO M. PANGILINAN SEN. AQUILINO "KOKO" PIMENTEL III

SEN. RISA HONTIVEROS

Ex Officio Members

President Tempore

SEN, JUAN MIGUEL F. ZUBIRI

Majority Leader

SEN, FRANKLIN M. DRILON

Mylority Leader

HON. VICENTE C. SOTTO III

Senate President

CONGRESS OF THE PHILIPPINES EIGHTEENTH CONGRESS Second Regular Session

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

II. No. 9452

BY REPRESENTATIVE ALVAREZ (P.), PER COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 995

AN ACT RENAMING THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAN ISIDRO, PROVINCE OF DAVAO DEL NORTE AS THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAWATA

Be it enacted by the Senate and the House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

- **SECTION 1.** The Municipality of San Isidro in the Province of Davao del Norte is hereby renamed as the Municipality of Sawata.
- SEC. 2. The change of name of the Municipality shall be effective upon ratification by the majority of the votes cast by the qualified voters therein in a plebiscite to be conducted and supervised by the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) in the present Municipality of San Isidro, Province of Davao del Norte in compliance with Section 13 (g) of Republic Act No. 7160, as amended, otherwise known as the "Local Government Code of 1991".
- The expenses for such plebiscite shall be borne by the Municipality of San Isidro, Province of Davao del Norte.
- SEC. 3. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in the Official Gazette or in a newspaper of general circulation.

Approved,

3

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12