

NINETEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES First Regular Session

22 JUL 13 P1:26

SENATE

RECEIVED BY

P.S. Res. No. <u>16</u>

)

)

)

Introduced by Senator Loren B. Legarda

RESOLUTION

HONORING AND COMMENDING THE EIGHT NEW NATIONAL ARTISTS BY VIRTUE OF PRESIDENTIAL PROCLAMATION NO. 1390

WHEREAS, the Order of National Artists was established under Proclamation no. 1001 (s. 1972) in order to give recognition to certain Filipinos who have distinguished themselves and have made exceptional contributions to Philippine Arts and Letters;

WHEREAS, on June 10, 2022, by virtue of Proclamation no. 1390, then President Rodrigo Roa Duterte conferred the Order of National Artist to eight Filipino artists namely:

- Agnes Locsin for Dance, who is known for incorporating our rituals and ethnic traditions in choreographies and hailed as one of the *"most progressive contemporary choreographers in the Philippines";*
- Salvacion Lim-Higgins for Design, known for innovating the *terno* and expertly using indigenous materials such as *piña* and *jusi* in modern dresses;
- Nora Aunor for Film and Broadcast Arts, whose extensive filmography and works in music and stage have for decades excellently depicted the realities of Filipino society;
- Ricky Lee for Film and Broadcast Arts, a multi-awarded screenwriter and journalist known for his mastery of writing historical films and diasporic dramas;
- Marilou Diaz-Abaya for Film and Broadcast Arts, an award-winning film and television director and screenwriter whose many notable works are part of the Philippines' "Second Golden Age of Cinema,";
- Gemino Abad for Literature, a prolific writer and anthologist whose historical anthologies provide a comprehensive view of Philippine poetry;

- Fides Cuyugan-Asensio for Music, whose six decades in opera and music have enriched Philippine opera and musical theater as well as showcasing the excellence of the cultural heritage of the Philippines through her works; and
- Tony Mabesa for Theater, hailed as *"the Lion of the Theater,"* a director, actor, and teacher whose works and teachings have greatly contributed to the growth of Philippine Theater;

WHEREAS, our National Artists with their passion and dedication to their craft have inspired and touched the lives of numerous Filipinos making their mark on our country's history;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, for the Philippine Senate, in support of our artists and cultural workers who have contributed to nation-building and bringing pride and honor to the country, to honor and commend the eight (8) new National Artists through this recognition.

Adopted,

LOREN LEGARDA