

NINETEENTH CONGRESS OF THE)
REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES)
First Regular Session)

'22 AUG -9 A9:27

RECEIVITO E¹⁰

SENATE

PS Res. No. ____112

Introduced by Senator Manuel "Lito" M. Lapid

RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE ENTIRE PHILIPPINE DELEGATION ON THEIR OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE FOR THE 2022 ASEAN PARA GAMES, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE 11^{TH} ASEAN PARA GAMES, HELD FROM JULY 30 TO AUGUST 6, 2022 IN SURAKARTA, INDONESIA

WHEREAS, Art. XIV, Section 19 of the 1987 Philippine Constitution states that "the State shall promote physical education and encourage sports programs, league competitions, and amateur sports, including training for international competitions, to foster self-discipline, teamwork, and excellence for the development of a healthy and alert citizenry";

WHEREAS, it is in pursuance of this policy that the Philippine Senate has, on several occasions, given recognition and commendation to outstanding Filipinos for their contribution in showcasing our nation's promising potential in the various fields and disciplines of Sports and in bringing pride and honor to the country by winning in international competitions;

WHEREAS, the 2022 ASEAN Para Games, otherwise known as the 11th ASEAN Para Games or Surakarta 2022, a bi-annual multi-sport event for differently abled athletes, was held in Surakarta, Indonesia from July 30 to August 6, 2022;

WHEREAS, the said competition, featuring 11 sports, was joined by 2,309 participants consisting of 1,648 athletes and 661 officials from 11 countries in Southeast Asia;

WHEREAS, the entire Philippine delegation performed remarkably and commendably during the 2022 ASEAN Para Games or the 11^{th} ASEAN Para Games, wherein the same ranks 5^{th} place with 28 gold medals, 31 silver medals, and 45 bronze medals;

WHEREAS, the 28 gold medals were garnered by:

Name	Sport	Event
Ernie Gawilan	Swimming	Men's 400m Freestyle
Roland Sabido	Swimming	Men's 400m Freestyle
Cendy Asusano	Athletics	Women's Javelin Throw
Jerrold Mangilawin	Athletics	Men's 100m
Angel Otom	Swimming	Women's 50m Backstroke
King James Reyes	Athletics	Men's 5000m
Ariel Alegarbes	Swimming	Men's 100m Backstroke
Ariel Alegarbes	Swimming	Men's 50m Butterfly
Jesebel Tordecilla	Athletics	Women's Javelin Throw
Sander Severino	Chess	Men's Individual Standard
Henry Roger Lopez Jasper Rom Sander Severino	Chess	Men's Team Event Standard

Menandro Redor	Chess	Men's Individual
Darry Bernando Menandro Redor Arman Subaste	Chess	Men's Team Event Standard
Cendy Asusano	Athletics	Women's Shot Put
Jerrold Mangliwan	Athletics	Men's 400m
Angel Otom	Swimming	Women's 50m Butterfly
Ernie Gawilan	Swimming	Men's 200m Individual Medley
Marco Tinamisan	Swimming	Men's 50m Freestyle
Angel Otom	Swimming	Women's 50m Freestyle
Sander Severino	Chess	Men's Individual Rapid
Henry Roger Lopez Jasper Rom Sander Severino	Chess	Men's Team Rapid
Marco Tinamisan	Swimming	Men's 100m Freestyle
Gary Bejino	Swimming	Men's 100m Freestyle
Ariel Alegarbes	Swimming	Men's 50m Freestyle
Cheyzer Crystal Mendoza	Chess	Women's Individual Blitz
Cheryl Angot Cheyzer Crystal Mendoza Jean-Lee Nacita	Chess	Women's Team Blitz
Darry Bernando	Chess	Men's Individual Blitz

٠

.

Darry Bernando	Chess	Men's Team Blitz
Menandro Redor		
Arman Subaste		

WHEREAS, the exemplary performance of the entire Philippine delegation deserves the highest praise, recognition and commendation for bringing pride and inspiration to the Filipino people and for showing to the world the unrelenting spirit of Filipino sports excellence;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, as it is hereby resolved, that the Senate congratulates and commends the entire Philippine delegation for their outstanding performance for the 2022 ASEAN Para Games held from July 30 to August 6, 2022 in Surakarta, Indonesia.

Adopted,

MANUEL "LITO" M. LAPID M. Senator