

NINETEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES

First Regular Session

22 AUG 16 P5:18

SENATE

)

P.S. Res. No. ___152

- THIVEORY

Introduced by Senator SONNY ANGARA

RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE EIGHT (8) INDIVIDUALS RECENTLY CONFERRED WITH THE ORDER OF NATIONAL ARTISTS (ONA)

WHEREAS, then President Ferdinand E. Marcos issued Presidential Proclamation No. 1001, s. 1972 which established the first National Artist award posthumously conferred to Fernando Amorsolo for his artistic works which "have defined and perpetuated a distinct element of the Nation's artistic and cultural heritage and won universal acclaim for our country and people";

WHEREAS, since then, this distinction, which is in recognition of exemplar contribution in the various fields such as music, dance, theater, visual arts, literature, film and broadcast arts, and architecture or allied arts, has been bequeathed to numerous individuals deemed worthy of the commendation – including architect Juan Nakpil, author Nick Joaquin, painter Vicente Manansala, director Lino Brocka, musician Levi Celerio, writer Virgilio Almario, and actor Fernando Poe Jr., among others;

WHEREAS, last June 2022, then President Rodrigo R. Duterte added eight (8) individuals to this exclusive distinction, namely: Agnes Locsin for Dance, Salvacion Lim-Higgins for Design, Marilou Diaz-Abaya for Film and Broadcast Arts, Ricardo "Ricky" Lee for Film and Broadcast Arts, Gemino Abad for Literature, Fides Cuyugan-Asensio for Music, Antonio "Tony" Mabesa for Theater, and Nora Aunor for Film and Broadcast Arts;

WHEREAS, Agnes Locsin, a known figure in neo-ethnic choreography whose works incorporate her advocacy towards environmental awareness and preservation,

is the 6th National Artist hailing from Mindanao. Prior to this distinction, Locsin was also a recipient of CCP's Gawad Para sa Sining and Gador Award;

WHEREAS, known for her innovative, elegant, and timeless designs, fashion icon Salvacion Lim-Higgins or Slim not only transformed the classic Filipiniana terno into a more modern look which continues to be an inspiration to many fashion designers; her school, Slim's Fashion and Arts School, is considered as the oldest fashion institution in the country - producing acclaimed designers such as Oliver Tolentino, Albert Andrada, Joey Samson, and Michael Cinco;

WHEREAS, the late Marilou Diaz-Abaya – founder of the Marilou Diaz-Abaya Film Institute and Art Center – was regarded by many in the film industry as one of the greatest Filipino directors of all time having made many notable cinematic works such as *Karnal, Jose Rizal, Muro-ami,* and *Bagong Buwan* – films which received critical praise not only for its technical excellence but also for its commentary on humanity and society;

WHEREAS, Ricardo "Ricky" Lee, one of the most prolific screenwriters and authors of the Philippines who achieved national icon status through his screenplays such as *Himala, Jose Rizal, Karnal,* and his novel *Para kay B,* has also dedicated years of his life into sharing his knowledge and creative process to many filmmakers and writers – many of whom have gone on to be multi-awarded members of the industry;

WHEREAS, Cebu native Gemino Abad, the second Cebuano to garner the status as National Artist after literary icon Resil Mojares, is an author of poems and essays which were recognized by several award-giving bodies — having received the Gawad Pambansang Alagad ni Balagtas from the Unyon ng mga Manunulat ng Pilipinas (UMPIL), UP Gawad Chancellor Best Literary Work, and several Palanca Awards;

WHEREAS, Opera singer, actor, and librettist Fides Cuyugan-Asensio has been a well-renowned figure in Philippine theater and is the first Filipino voice scholar to be accepted at the prestigious Curtis Institute in Philadelphia. As one of the most recognizable figures in Philippine opera, Cuyugan-Asensio has used her stature to push for stronger support for the local music scene;

WHEREAS, Dubbed as the "Lion of the Theater," Antonio "Tony" Mabesa has brought joy and inspiration to many generations as an actor, director, and teacher and is even considered as among the first Filipinos who laid the foundation for Philippine university theater. With his vast knowledge and experience, he led the development of theatre arts in the University of the Philippines (UP) Diliman;

WHEREAS, Nora Cabaltera Villamayor, more famously known as Nora Aunor is a multi-awarded actress whose roles in renowned films such as *Tatlong Taong Walang Diyos, Bona, Himala, The Flor Contemplacion Story,* and *Thy Womb* earned her massive success, following, and the distinction as the Philippine Cinema's "Superstar";

WHEREAS, these eight (8) honorees have undoubtedly elevated the country's appreciation of art; hence, their contributions to the sector must not only be recognized by the Executive Department but also by Congress;

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED by the Senate of the Philippines to commend and congratulate the eight (8) individuals who were recently conferred with the Order of the National Artist (ONA).

Adopted,

SONNY ANGARA