

NINETEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES First Regular Session

°22 AUG 17 A11:53

RECEIVED BY:

SENATE

]

P. S. Res No. <u>154</u>

Introduced by SEN. WIN GATCHALIAN

A RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING THE AWARDEES OF THE METROBANK FOUNDATION OUTSTANDING FILIPINOS OF 2022

1 WHEREAS, The Metrobank Foundation's "Excel, Engage, Empower" roadmap seeks to inspire people to excel in what they do, to engage them and 2 3 the communities they belong to, and to empower them to become agents for nation-building; 4 5 WHEREAS, The Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos is the most prestigious career-service award for Filipino achievers in the academe, 6 7 military, and police sectors. It is a career-service award as it looks into the entire professional career of the person—all their accomplishments and services 8 9 rendered, whether big or small, done while in the line of duty and even beyond, from the moment they started working up to the present time; 10 WHEREAS, the 2022 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipino 11 12 awards have been conferred to ten (10) Filipinos composed of four (4) teachers, three (3) soldiers, and three (3) police officers, for being exemplary public 13 servants and active agents of positive change and influence in their 14 communities, namely; 15

FOR THE AWARD FOR TEACHERS:

- JUNMERTH C. JORTA serves as the primary driver of the establishment
 of Keupiyanan Te Balugo, a last mile public school with multi-grade
 classes of the Matigsalug community in San Fernando, Bukidnon.
 Teacher Junmerth traverses long roads and braves trails to provide
 education to indigenous learners, as well as to spearhead community
 programs to combat hunger and illiteracy.
 - 2. CHRISTINE JOY D.R. AGUILA, PH.D. is a Special Science Teacher 5 of the Philippine Science High School Main Campus. She is a teacher-advocate of the Filipino language, with numerous contributions to the academe in the areas of assessment and teaching excellence. She has also been a recipient of several recognitions for her consistent stellar performance since she became an educator.
 - 3. LEONILA F. DANS, M.D., M.SC. is the first Pediatric Rheumatologist and one of the first Clinical Epidemiologists in the Philippines. She has inspired several pediatricians who have followed in her footsteps, caring for children with rheumatic conditions. She led the implementation of Southeast Asia's first Master of Science program in Clinical Epidemiology. To this day, she extends her expertise to strengthen primary care in rural areas.
 - 4. MARK NOLAN P. CONFESOR, PH.D. is a Professor 6 specializing in Physics in the Mindanao State University Iligan Institute of Technology. He has been urging and inspiring his students and mentees to be the next generation of Filipino physicists. He initiated the establishment of the Soft Matter and Biological Physics Laboratory (SMBPL), the first of its kind in the country, in the hope of doing cutting-edge research.

FOR THE AWARD FOR SOLDIERS:

5. TECHNICAL SERGEANT JOEL L. TUGANAN is the first sergeant of the Delta Company, 33rd Infantry Battalion, 6th Infantry Division of the Philippine Army. His accomplishments speak volumes about his expertise in combat operations as a defender of sovereignty and community welfare in Maguindanao. With his rich experience and knowledge in combat, he has trained several comrades to

- elevate their competence in combat operations. Apart from being in the frontlines, his triumphs include nurturing resilient communities despite the dangers in the battlefield.
- 6. COLONEL MARIA VICTORIA P. JUAN NC serves as a primary catalyst in the Philippine Army's Health Service as the Philippine Army's Chief Nurse with 31 years in service. Her innovative streak led to the inception of the Army Aeromedical Evacuation Capability and Enhancement of Casualty Care Management System. She is also assigned as the technical staff of the Commanding General of the Philippine Army on nursing-related matters.
- 7. COLONEL STEPHEN L. CABANLET PN (M) currently serves as the 11 12 Assistant Chief of the Unified Command Staff for Operations, U3 of the 13 Western Command, specializing on marine infantry with 29 years of 14 service. His out-of-the box tactics have led to successful operations, 15 inspiring his troops to adopt unconventional approaches to achieve 16 peace and development, and winning the trust of communities in Sulu. 17 In 2011, he introduced Football for Peace, a sports advocacy program 18 which he started in Sulu and has since been adopted in different areas.

FOR THE AWARD FOR POLICE OFFICERS:

19

29

30

31

- 8. POLICE EXECUTIVE MASTER SERGEANT ROGELIO A. RODRIGUEZ, JR. 20 is currently an investigator of the Anti-Fraud and Commercial Crimes Unit 21 of the Criminal Investigation and Detection Group, specializing on 22 investigation and intelligence with 23 years of service under his belt. His 23 contributions to the police force's campaign against criminality 24 25 underscore his expertise as an intelligence operative. In several missions, his unit apprehended high-profile outlaws. He was also 26 instrumental to the arrest of an international terrorist and prevention of 27 28 a lethal attack.
 - POLICE CAPTAIN ROSALINO E. PANLAQUI serves as the Chief of Police of Jalajala Municipal Police Station with 16 years of service under his belt specializing on Community Relations. As Chief of Police, he is known for

building a strong relationship between the police and community, which is founded on gaining the trust of the people through holistic engagements. With his leadership, the Jalajala police station has adopted and institutionalized programs that empower citizens to lead better lives and uplift their conditions.

10. POLICE COLONEL LAMBERT A. SUERTE is the Battalion Commander of the Regional Mobile Force Battalion of the National Capital Region Police Office. His resolve and expertise as a commander have been tested in several armed encounters with enemy forces. Foremost among these is leading his men to victory and safety during the Marawi City siege in 2017. Throughout his service, his efforts were vital in the liberation of stakeholder groups from security threats.

WHEREAS, the Senate of the Philippines, as an expression of its consistent support on the advancement of the culture of excellence among the teachers, the police and the military, joins the Metrobank Foundation in recognizing and honoring the 2022 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos Awardees for their outstanding and selfless service in the performance of their professions, steeped in nationalism and integrity;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE PHILIPPINES, to congratulate and commend the recipients of The Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos of 2022 who were recognized for their loyalty and dedication to the Constitution of the Republic of the Philippines, for their faithful performance of their sworn duties and responsibilities beyond reproach, and for being model citizens in their respective communities.

RESOLVED, FURTHER, that a copy of this Resolution be given to the Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos of 2022 Awardees.

Adopted,