

NINETEENTH CONGRESS OF THE
REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES
First Regular Session

1

2

3

4

5 6

7

8

10 11

12 13

14

15

16

17

18 19

20

21

25

26

°22 NOV -7 P4:04

SENATE P.S. RES. NO. 283

RECEIVED BY:)
	V	

Introduced by SENATOR SONNY ANGARA

RESOLUTION

RECOGNIZING AND COMMENDING THE OUTSTANDING WOMEN IN THE NATION'S SERVICE (TOWNS) 2022

WHEREAS, The Outstanding Women in the Nation's Service (TOWNS) initiated by Towns Foundation, Inc. which commenced in 1974, is a triennial search for Filipino women aged 21-50 years old who are exemplar of courage, strength and dedication;

WHEREAS, the TOWNS award given to these exceptional women recognizes their influence in advancing women empowerment, freedom of speech, health and wellness, various aspects of development, environmental protection and patriotism;

WHEREAS, since its formation 48 years ago, the TOWNS has already named 178 Filipino women. Held once every three years, the TOWNS awards night is held during the last week of October;

WHEREAS, this year's TOWNS awardees who were chosen out of 70 nominees across the country, represent important sectors such as Health, Education, Science and Technology, Environment, Media, and Sports;

WHEREAS, the eleven distinguished TOWNS awardees have served as good role models for Filipino women who wish to dedicate themselves to the development of different sectors of society and in strengthening nation building;

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED by the Senate of the Philippines to recognize and commend the 2022 *The Outstanding Women in Nation's Service* (TOWNS) Awardees, namely:

- 1. Ani Rosa Almario of Adarna House (Education and Entrepreneurship)
- 2. Rubilen Amit, Billiards World Champion (Sports)
- 3. Dr. Pia Bagamasbad, Molecular biologist (Medicine and Public Health)
- 4. Dr. Beverly Lorraine Ho of Department of Health (Medicine and Public Health)
- 5. Dr. Erika Fille Legara (Data Science)
 - 6. Keisha Alena Mayuga (Transportation)
 - 7. Ana Patricia Non, Community Pantry founder (Community Service)

- 8. Anna Oposa Del Rosario, Environmentalist (Marine Ecology Conservation)
- 9. Pia Ranada, Rappler Journalist (Investigative Journalism)
- 3 10. Georgina Romero (Information and Communications Technology)
- 4 11. Dr. Alleta T. Yniguez (Marine Science)

Adopted,

SONNY ANGARA