CONGRESS OF THE PHILIPPINES NINETEENTH CONGRESS First Regular Session

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

H. No. 6129

By Representatives Zubiri, Go (M.) and Co (E.), per Committee Report No. 171

AN ACT

CONVERTING THE SATELLITE CAMPUSES OF THE BUKIDNON STATE UNIVERSITY LOCATED IN THE MUNICIPALITIES OF TALAKAG, BAUNGON, LIBONA, MALITBOG, IMPASUG-ONG, CABANGLASAN, SAN FERNANDO, QUEZON, KITAOTAO, DAMULOG, KADINGILAN, AND KALILANGAN IN THE PROVINCE OF BUKIDNON INTO REGULAR CAMPUSES OF THE BUKIDNON STATE UNIVERSITY, AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The satellite campuses of the Bukidnon State University (BSU) located in the Municipalities of Talakag, Baungon, Libona, Malitbog, Impasug-ong, Cabanglasan, San Fernando, Quezon, Kitaotao, Damulog, Kadingilan, and Kalilangan in the Province of Bukidnon, are hereby converted into regular campuses of the BSU to be known respectively as "BSU-Talakag Campus, BSU-Baungon Campus, BSU-Libona Campus, BSU-Malitbog Campus, BSU-Impasug-ong Campus, BSU-Cabanglasan Campus, BSU-San Fernando Campus, BSU-Quezon Campus, BSU-Kitaotao Campus, BSU-Damulog Campus, BSU-Kadingilan Campus, and BSU-Kalilangan Campus".

SEC. 2. The BSU-Talakag Campus, BSU-Baungon Campus, BSU-Libona Campus, BSU-Malitbog Campus, BSU-Impasug-ong Campus, BSU-Cabanglasan Campus, BSU-San Fernando Campus, BSU-Quezon Campus, BSU-Kitaotao Campus, BSU-Damulog Campus, BSU-Kadingilan Campus, and BSU-Kalilangan Campus shall primarily provide short-term, technical-vocational, undergraduate, and graduate courses within its areas of competencies and specialization, pursuant to the mandate of the BSU, and according to its capabilities, as the Board of Regents, hereinafter referred to as the Board, may deem necessary to respond to the human resource development needs of the Province of Bukidnon and Region X.

It is also mandated to undertake research and extension services and provide progressive leadership in these areas.

SEC. 3. The BSU-Talakag Campus, BSU-Baungon Campus, BSU-Libona Campus, BSU-Malitbog Campus, BSU-Impasug-ong Campus, BSU-Cabanglasan Campus, BSU-San

Fernando Campus, BSU-Quezon Campus, BSU-Kitaotao Campus, BSU-Damulog Campus, BSU-Kadingilan Campus, and BSU-Kalilangan Campus shall each be headed by a Campus Administrator who shall be appointed by the Board, subject to its guidelines on qualification standards, and based on the recommendation of a search committee duly constituted for the purpose of selecting the Campus Administrator.

 SEC. 4. The BSU shall ensure that the minimum requirements of the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) for the operation of the BSU-Talakag Campus, BSU-Baungon Campus, BSU-Libona Campus, BSU-Malitbog Campus, BSU-Impasug-ong Campus, BSU-Cabanglasan Campus, BSU-San Fernando Campus, BSU-Quezon Campus, BSU-Kitaotao Campus, BSU-Damulog Campus, BSU-Kadingilan Campus, and BSU-Kalilangan Campus, including those related to its course offerings, are fully complied with.

SEC. 5. All assets, both real and personal, personnel, and records of the BSU-Talakag Campus, BSU-Baungon Campus, BSU-Libona Campus, BSU-Malitbog Campus, BSU-Impasug-ong Campus, BSU-Cabanglasan Campus, BSU-San Fernando Campus, BSU-Quezon Campus, BSU-Kitaotao Campus, BSU-Damulog Campus, BSU-Kadingilan Campus, and BSU-Kalilangan Campus, as well as their liabilities or obligations, shall be titled under or named after the BSU.

All parcels of land belonging to the government that shall be occupied by the BSU campuses in the municipalities of Talakag, Baungon, Libona, Malitbog, Impasug-ong, Cabanglasan, San Fernando, Quezon, Kitaotao, Damulog, Kadingilan, and Kalilangan in the Province of Bukidnon shall be the property of the BSU, and shall be titled under its name: *Provided*, That should the campuses cease to exist or be abolished or should such aforementioned parcels of land be no longer needed by the BSU, the same shall revert to the concerned local government unit or to the Republic of the Philippines, as the case may be.

SEC. 6. The provisions of Republic Act No. 8292, otherwise known as the "Higher Education Modernization Act of 1997", shall form part of this Act.

SEC. 7. The amount necessary to carry out the provisions of this Act shall be included in the annual General Appropriations Act (GAA).

The municipalities of Talakag, Baungon, Libona, Malitbog, Impasug-ong, Cabanglasan, San Fernando, Quezon, Kitaotao, Damulog, Kadingilan, and Kalilangan shall continue to provide funding assistance for the operations of the BSU campuses in their respective municipalities until such time that the amount necessary for its continued operation and maintenance shall be included in the annual GAA.

SEC. 8. Within sixty (60) days from the approval of this Act, the Board shall, in consultation with the CHED, issue the rules and regulations to fully implement the provisions of this Act.

 SEC. 9. If, for any reason, any part or provision of this Act is declared invalid or unconstitutional, the remaining parts or provisions not affected shall remain in full force and effect.

SEC. 10. All laws, presidential decrees, executive orders, rules and regulations contrary to or inconsistent with the provisions of this Act are amended, repealed or modified accordingly.

SEC. 11. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in the Official Gazette or in a newspaper of general circulation.

Approved,