NINETEENTH CONGRESS OF THE) REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES) First Regular Session)



DEC -7 A11:23

PS. Res. No.

Introduced by Senator Manuel "Lito" M. Lapid

RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE PHILIPPINE ATHLETICS TEAM FOR THEIR SUCCESSFUL CAMPAIGN AT THE 2022 THAILAND OPEN TRACK AND FIELD CHAMPIONSHIPS

WHEREAS, Art. XIV, Section 19 of the 1987 Philippine Constitution states that "the State shall promote physical education and encourage sports programs, league competitions, and amateur sports, including training for international competitions, to foster self-discipline, teamwork, and excellence for the development of a healthy and alert citizenry;"

WHEREAS, it is in recognition of this policy that we recognize and honor the significant achievements of our countrymen in the field of sports to encourage and incentivize excellence among our athletes;

WHEREAS, at the Thailand Open Track and Field Championships, held last November 28 to December 1, 2022, at the National Athletics Centre in Samkhog District, in Pathumthani province, the Philippines ended its successful campaign with a total of 15 medals, five of which being gold;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Athletics Team, comprised of the following athletes, namely:

- 1. Leonard Grospe Men's High Jump
- 2. Alfrence Braza Men's 1500-m
- 3. Mariano Masano Men's 1500-m
- 4. Francis Medina Men's 400-m hurdles
- 5. Joyme Seguita Men's 400-m
- 6. Mico del Prado Men's 400-m
- 7. Edgardo Alejan Jr. Men's 400-m
- 8. Melvin Calano Men's Javelin
- 9. Janry Ubas Men's Long Jump
- 10. Hokett Delos Santos Men's Pole Vault
- 11. Albert Mantua Men's Shot Put
- 12. Jelly Paragile Women's 100-m Hurdles
- 13. Melissa Escoton Women's 100-m Hurdles

- 14. Josefa Ligmayo Women's Heptathlon
- 15. Sarah Dequinan Women's Heptathlon
- 16. Eloisa Medina Women's 100-m
- 17. Joida Gagnao Women's 3,000-m steeplechase
- 18. Kath Khay Santos Women's Long Jump

WHEREAS, they were also joined by their Coaches, Mr. Danilo Fresnido and Joebert Delicano;

WHEREAS, Sarah Dequinan dominated the Women's Heptathlon and tallied a total of 5,280 points which earned her a gold medal, while the 4x400m relay team comprised by Edgardo Alejan Jr., Mico del Prado, Joyme Sequita, Francis Medina prevailed and took home a gold after clocking 3:11.83;

WHEREAS, in the Men's Shot Put, Albert Mantua, bagged a gold medal with his 16.24, Alfrence Braza also won a gold medal in the Men's 1500m with a time of 4:03.79, and Mariano Masano in the Men's 800m also gave an outstanding performance that won another gold for our country;

WHEREAS, aside from the 5 gold medals, the Philippine Team also brought home 6 silver medals and 4 bronzes thanks to the outstanding performances of the rest of the athletes in their respective events;

WHEREAS, the exemplary performance of Team Philippines in the 2022 Thailand Open Track and Field Championship deserve the highest praise, recognition and commendation for bringing pride and honor to our country by outclassing their international competition;

WHEREAS, their incredible feat shall serve as an inspiration to their fellow athletes who aspire to represent our nation in the world stage, we recognize and thank the entirety of the Philippine Atheletics Team for showing the world the Filipino relentlessness in the pursuit of sports excellence, no matter the discipline of sport we may are in;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, for the Senate of the Philippines to express its congratulations and commendation to the Philippine Team for their successful campaign in the 2022 Thailand Open Track and Field Championship.

Adopted,

MANUEL "LITO" M. LAPID
Senator