NINETEENTH CONGRESS OF THE )
REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES )
First Regular Session )



22 DEC 12 A10:25

SENATE PS. Res. No. 366



Introduced by Senator Manuel "Lito" M. Lapid

## RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE AWARDEES OF THE OUTSTANDING FILIPINO (TOFIL) AWARD 2022

**WHEREAS**, the Outstanding Filipino (TOFIL) Awards is an annual search undertaken by the Junior Chamber International – Senate of the Philippines, and other foundations, this year was in partnership with the ANSA Foundation;

**WHEREAS,** The Outstanding Filipino (TOFIL) Awards seeks to pay tribute to outstanding Filipino men and women aged 41 and over, who have made significant contributions to the advancement of their profession, public welfare and national development;

**WHEREAS**, the Junior Chamber International – Senate of the Philippines and the ANSA Foundation recognized the five outstanding Filipinos that will send a strong message to today's generation that there are still bright spots of hope and heroism in the nation, to wit: Dr. Persida V. Rueda-Acosta, DSD for Justice and Law, Engr. Maria Catalina Estamo Cabral, Ph.D., CESO I for Government and Public Service, Nemesio R. Miranda for Visual Arts and Sculpture, Jr., Hans T. Sy for Business and Resilience, Dr. Ruben L. Villareal for Agricultural Science;

**WHEREAS,** Persida Rueda-Acosta for Justice and Law, having served as chief public attorney since 2001, she is noted for her innovation in the workplace and immeasurable contributions to the Public Attorney's Office, specifically her efforts to provide legitimately accessible and relevant legal service to our fellow Filipinos;

**WHEREAS,** Maria Catalina Cabral for Government and Public Service, with an almost 40-year career in service of the Filipino people, Cabral has established herself as both a public servant and an engineer, currently the undersecretary for Planning and Public-Private Partnership Services at the Department of Public Works and Highways, she has led many innovative and inclusive projects across the department;

**WHEREAS,** Nemesio Miranda Jr., for Visual Arts and Sculpture, is a revered muralist and sculptor, he has participated and launched over 100 local and international exhibitions throughout his awe-inspiring career in the world of Art, he is known as "the father if imaginative figurism", and is a living legend in his hometown of Angono, Rizal;

**WHEREAS,** Hans Sy for Business and Resilience, the Chairman of the SM Prime Holdings Executive Committee, Sy has been playing an important part in changing the landscape of Philippine Mall Culture by steering the sector into a much more sustainable future through green architecture;

**WHEREAS,** Ruben Villareal for Agricultural Science, with a career that spans over sixty years, Villareal's body of work has paved the way for many of his fellow agronomists towards a finer understanding and appreciation for Plant Science, he is most known for his work in the field of corn propagation;

**WHEREAS,** this year's awardees will join a very short list of exemplary Filipinos who were also hailed as Outstanding Filipinos in recent decades;

**WHEREAS,** the Senate of the Philippines proudly joins the Junior Chamber International – Senate of the Philippines and the ANSA Foundation in congratulating and commending the admirable Filipinos who by their life work exemplify excellence and service to humanity through The Outstanding Filipino (TOFIL) Awards;

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, for the Senate of the Philippines to congratulate and commend The Outstanding Filipino (TOFIL) Awardees of 2022, namely:

- 1. Persida V. Rueda-Acosta for Justice and Law
- 2. Maria Catalina Cabral for Government and Public Service
- 3. Nemesio R. Miranda for Visual Arts and Sculpture
- 4. Hans T. Sy for Business and Resilience
- 5. Ruben L. Villareal for Agricultural Science

Adopted,

MANUEL "LITO" M. LAPID

Senator