

NINETEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES *First Regular Session*



SENATE

)

)

)

RECEIVED BM

P.S. Res. No. <u>387</u>

Introduced by SENATOR RAMON BONG REVILLA, JR.

RESOLUTION

RECOGNIZING AND COMMENDING THE OUTSTANDING FILIPINO (TOFIL) AWARDEES FOR 2022 FOR THEIR EXEMPLARY CONTRIBUTIONS TO NATION BUILDING

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate has, on several occasions, give recognition and commendation to outstanding Filipinos for their remarkable feats of bringing honor, pride and glory to the country by garnering prestigious awards;

WHEREAS, The Outstanding Filipino (TOFIL) Award was first established in 1988 by the JCI Senate Philippines. It was created with the intention of institutionalizing public recognition of the exemplary achievements and contributions to public welfare and community building of Filipinos, 41 years of age and older. It seeks to recognize truly outstanding Filipinos who have dedicated themselves to serving the nation;

WHEREAS, in its 33-year history, TOFIL award has been conferred to more than 130 exemplary individuals for their noteworthy contributions towards the upliftment of Philippine society;

WHEREAS, with theme "Resiliency in Rebuilding Our Nation", the 2022 edition is jointly organized by Junior Chamber International Senate Philippines (JCISP), The Outstanding Filipino Foundation (TOFIL), and Affiliated Network for Social Accountability Foundation;

WHEREAS, the 2022 TOFIL Awardees are Mr. Hans T. Sy, Engr. Maria Catalina Estamo Cabral, Atty. Persida V. Rueda-Acosta, Dr. Ruben L. Villareal, and Mr. Nemesio R. Miranda Jr.; **WHEREAS**, the 2022 TOFIL Awardees are Filipinos of good moral character, whose dedication to their profession or vocation has made significant contributions to the advancement of their calling. The honorees were chosen based on the strength of their character, the strength of their integrity and the impact of their achievements in their field of work;

WHEREAS, the Senate of the Philippines proudly joins the Junior Chamber International Senate Philippines (JCISP), The Outstanding Filipino Foundation (TOFIL), and Affiliated Network for Social Accountability Foundation in lauding the 2022 TOFIL awardees for their great contribution to nation building through their excellence respective discipline.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, to congratulate and commend the 2022 recipients of "The Outstanding Filipino" award conferred by the JCISP, TOFIL Foundation, Inc, and ANSA.

- 1. Mr. Hans T. Sy, Chairman SM Prime Holdings Executive Committee (Business and Resilience)
- Engr. Maria Catalina Estamo Cabral, Undersecretary for Planning and Public-Private Partnership Services of the Department of Public Works and Highways (Government and Public Service)
- 3. Atty. Persida V. Rueda-Acosta, Chief Public Attorney (Justice and Law)
- 4. Dr. Ruben L. Villareal, Horticultural Innovator and Scientist (Agricultural Science)
- 5. Mr. Nemesio R. Miranda Jr., Pioneer of Imaginative Figurism in the Philippines (Visual Arts and Sculpture)

Adopted,

RAMON, SONG REVILLA, JR.