

NINETEENTH CONGRESS OF THE)
REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES)
First Regular Session)

23 FEB 20 A9:41

SENATE PS. Res. No. **491**



Introduced by Senator Manuel "Lito" M. Lapid

RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE (USA-COL) UNIVERSITY OF SAN AGUSTIN — COLLEGE OF LAW MOOT COURT AND DEBATE TEAM FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING PERFORAMANCE AND REMARKABLE VICTORIES IN MULTIPLE INTERNATIONAL MOOT COURT COMPETITIONS

WHEREAS, the University of San Agustin - College of Law - Moot Court and Debate Team has brought honor and pride to the country with their exceptional performance in various international and national moot court competitions;

WHEREAS, the Team won the championship in the Stetson International Environmental Moot Court Competition, where they also received individual awards, such as Best Oralist in the Final Round and 2nd Best Speaker in the Preliminary Round;

WHEREAS, the Team also emerged as champions in the National Moot Court Competition on International Humanitarian Law, where they received team awards for Best Memorial - Prosecution and Best Memorial - Defense, as well as individual awards, such as the Justice Leonor Ines Luciano Memorial Award, Best Mooter in the Preliminary Rounds, and Second Best Mooter in the Preliminary Rounds;

WHEREAS, the Team also participated in the Monroe E Price International Media Law Moot Court Competition and were declared 1st Runner-Up in the Asia-Pacific Rounds, where they received team awards for 1st Runner-up Best Memorial, and individual awards for 1st Runner-up Best Oralist and Best Oralist in the Finals;

WHEREAS, the following members of the University of San Agustin - College of Law - Moot Court and Debate Team have demonstrated remarkable skill and expertise in their respective roles, and are therefore deserving of recognition and commendation, below are the names and individual awards given to our mooters:

Competition: National Moot Court Competition on International Humanitarian Law

Placement: Champion (National Rounds)

Team Awards:

Best Memorial — Prosecution

Best Memorial — Defense

2nd Runner-up, IHL Role Play challenge

Individual Awards:

Justice Leonor Ines Luciano Memorial Award: Ancel D'Cunha

Best Mooter, Preliminary Rounds: Ancel D'Cunha

Second Best Mooter, Preliminary Rounds: Ervin Gedmaire Caro

Venue for International Rounds: Hong Kong Red Cross Headquarters, West Kowloon, Hong Kong

Team Members:

- 1. Ervin Gedmaire Caro
- 2. Ancel D'Cunha
- 3. Julienne Dela Pieza
- 4. Marie Dominique Lavalle
- 5. Mary Andrea Managaytay

Faculty Adviser/Coach: Atty. Anfred Panes

Student Coach: Jeff Earl D. Nuñez

Competition: Monroe E Price International Media Law Moot Court Competition

Placement: 1st Runner-up (Asia-Pacific Rounds)

Team Awards:

1st Runner-up best memorial

Individual Awards:

1st Runner-up Best Oralist: Yzabel Layson Best Oralist in the Finals: Yzabel Layson

Venue for International Rounds: Oxford, United Kingdom (Virtual)

Team Members:

- 1. Yzabel Layson
- 2. Luis Miguel Tirador
- 3. Jeff Earl Nuñez
- 4. Jann Lessandro Lira
- 5. Lord Jemarie Ramos

Faculty Adviser/Coach: Atty. Anfred Panes

Competition: Stetson International Environmental Moot Court Competition

Placement: Champion

Individual Awards:

Best Oralist (Final Round): Marco Giorgione Dava

2nd Best Speaker (Preliminary Round): Blessie Marie Cawaling

Venue for International Rounds: Florida, United States of America

Team Members:

- 1. Blessie Marie Cawaling
- 2. Marco Giorgione Dava
- 3. Quemel Charles Malte
- 4. Rency Joseph Ponce de Leon
- 5. Raphael Descartes Roldan

Faculty Adviser/Coach: Atty. Anfred Panes

Student Coach: Jeff Earl D. Nuñez

WHEREAS, the exceptional performance of the University of San Agustin - College of Law - Moot Court and Debate Team is a testament to their hard work, dedication, and expertise in the field of law, and a source of inspiration for aspiring future lawyers in the Philippines and abroad;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the Philippines, to congratulate and commend the University of San Agustin College of Law - Moot Court and Debate Team, and their individual members, for their outstanding performance and remarkable victories in the Stetson International Environmental Moot Court Competition, National Moot Court Competition on International Humanitarian Law, and Monroe E Price International Media Law Moot Court Competition.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, to recognize the Team's achievements as a testament to the excellence and brilliance of Filipino law students, and as a source of national pride and inspiration for the youth of the country.

Adopted,

MANUEL "LITO" M. LAPID Senator