NINETEENTH CONGRESS OF THE)
REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES)
First Regular Session)



23 FEB 27 P3:07

SENATE

P. S. Res. No. 504

RECEIVED BY

Introduced by Senator Loren B. Legarda

RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE THIRTY-THREE (33) AWARDEES OF THE 15TH ANI NG DANGAL AWARDS

WHEREAS, the *Ani ng Dangal* Awards is conducted annually by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) as the culmination and concluding ceremony of our country's National Arts Month (NAM);

WHEREAS, the *Ani ng Dangal* Awards honors Filipino artists who garnered the highest international awards and recognition in the categories of Architecture and Allied Arts, Cinema, Dance, Music, Visual Arts and Broadcast Arts;

WHEREAS, thirty-three (33) Filipino artists were conferred awards and handed out trophies during the 15th *Ani ng Dangal* Awards held on 22 February 2023 at the Ceremonial Hall of the Malacañang Palace.;

WHEREAS, there are four (4) awardees from Architecture and Allied Arts, namely:

- 1. "The Penthouse" by Atelier Almario, Best Residential Interior Apartment at the Asia Pacific Property Awards in the United Kingdom on April 2022;
- 2. "The Galleon Residences Showroom" by Chat Fores Design Studio, Best Residential Show Home at the Asia Pacific Region for the International Property Awards in 2021;

- 3. "Equilateral House" by Jorge Yulo Architects & Associates, Winner for Innovative Architecture at the Iconic Awards in Germany in 2022;
- 4. "Batangas Forest City" by WTA Architecture and Design Studio, Best of the Best for Innovative Architecture (Master Planning Category) at the Iconic Awards in 2022.

WHEREAS, there is one (1) awardee from Broadcast Arts, which is "A Thousand Cuts" directed by Ramona Diaz, that was awarded Outstanding Social Issue Documentary at the 43rd News and Documentary Emmy Awards on September 2022;

WHEREAS, there are eleven (11) awardees from Cinema, namely:

- 5. Jeric Gonzales, Best Actor for "Broken Blooms" at the Harlem International Film Festival in New York in 2022;
- 6. Dolly De Leon, Best Supporting Performer for "Triangle of Sadness" at the Los Angeles Films Critics Association Awards (LAFCA) in 2022;
- 7. *'Di N'yo Ba Naririnig''* directed by Elvin Jay Macanlalay, Golden Kinabalu Award for Best Documentary at the 13th Kota Kinabalu International Film Festival in Malaysia in 2022;
- 8. "The Flight of *Banog*" directed by Elvert Bañares, Golden Kinabalu Award for Best Indigenous Language Film at the 13th Kota Kinabalu International Film Festival in Malaysia in 2022;
- 9. Geraldo B. Jumawan, Best Actor (Short Film) for "The Glance" at the 10th LakeCity International Film Festival in India in 2022;
- 10. "Black Rainbow" directed by Zig Dulay, Best Short Film at the LUCAS International Festival for Young Film Lovers in Frankfurt, Germany in 2022;
- 11. Joaquin Ditan Domagoso, Best Actor for "That Boy in the Dark" at the Toronto Film and Script Awards (16th edition) in Toronto, Canada in 2022;

- 12. "The Headhunter's Daughter" directed by Don Josephus Raphael Eblahan, Grand Jury Prize for Short Film at the Sundance Film Festival in 2022;
- 13. "It's Raining Frogs Outside" directed by Maria Estela Paiso, International Award at the Leiden Shorts International Competition in Leiden, Netherlands in 2022;
- 14. "Days of the New" directed by Keith Deligero, International Competition Grand Prix at the 20th Tabor Film Festival in Croatia in 2022;
- 15. "Leonor Will Never Die" directed by Martika Escobar, World Cinema Dramatic Special Jury Award at the Sundance Film Festival in 2022.

WHEREAS, there are four (4) awardees from Dance, namely:

- 16. Billy Crawford, Winner at the Danse avec les stars (Dancing with the Stars) in France in November 2022;
- 17. Electro Groovers, International Champion (Varsity Division) at the World Supremacy Battlegrounds in Australia in 2022;
- 18. Halili-Cruz School of Ballet, 1st Place for "Stage to Screen" at the Asia Pacific Dance Competition in Singapore in January 2021;
- 19. Bayanihan (Philippines' National Folk Dance Company), Grand Prize at the Cheonan World Dance Festival in Korea in September 2022.

WHEREAS, there are ten (10) awardees from Music, namely:

- 20. Ryle Nicole Custodio, Grand Prize for "Tagu-Taguan" at the Busan Choral Competition in Busan, Korea in 2021;
- 21. Darwin J. Lomentigar, First Place for Amateur Solo Vocal Classical Competition at the 10th Jean Sibelius International Solo Vocal Competition;

- 22. Rafael Adobas Bayog, First Prize at the 10th Kobe International Flute Competition in Japan in March 2022;
- 23. Ily Matthew Maniano, First Prize Composition Winner for "Amihan" at the Busan Choral Festival & Competition in South Korea in October 2022;
- 24. Theodore Julius Chua Tan, First Place Winner in Judges' Best Performance Award for Junior Category Ages 9-12 Violin at the Vienna Virtuoso Music Competition in 2022;
- 25. Adrik Cristobal, First Prize Open Category at the Thailand International Guitar Competition in Thailand in 2022;
- 26. Jeanne Rafaella Marquez, First Prize in Aaron Rosand Memorial Award Advanced (16-18) Category at the New York Young Performers Prize Competition in New York in 2022;
- 27. Far Eastern University Chorale, First Prize in Mixed Choir Competition at the Andrea O. Veneracion International Choir Festival in 2020;
- 28. Michael Valenciano, First Prize in Lucy Boyan Balakian Award College (19-23) Category at the New York Young Performers Prize Competition in New York in 2022;
- 29. Danikka Louise Dy, Grand Prize in Voice Competition, Advanced (Highly Competitive) (Junior Category, 13-14 years old) at the Rocky Mountain Music Competition Spring Season 2022.

WHEREAS, there are three (3) awardees from Visual Arts, namely:

- 30. Albert Emir B. Reyes, Grand Prize Winner for "Bustling Little Town" at the 23rd International High School Arts Festival in Tokyo, Japan;
- 31. Mariah Karla B. Zamora, National Award Winner at the Sony World Photography Awards in London in February 2022;

32. Froiland Rivera, First Prize for "Online Learning" at the APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation) Photo Contest in 2021.

WHEREAS, the thirty-three (33) awardees were given stylized sarimanok trophies that were sculpted by Abdulmari Imao, a National Artist for Visual Arts;

WHEREAS, the Senate of the Philippines joins the National Commission for Culture and the Arts in recognizing the exceptional efforts that the world-renowned awardees of the 15th *Ani ng Dangal* Awards have made to promote international recognition of superior Filipino talents, culture, and art;

WHEREAS, the recognition is a mark of honor, pride, passion and intelligence of the artists, and a collection oeuvre d'art on which the reputation of the artists rest;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, that the Senate of the Philippines congratulate and commend the thirty-three awardees of the 15th *Ani ng Dangal* Awards.

Adopted,

LOREN LEGARDA